Moving-Up Day Awards

Every year, on Moving-Up Day, the Art and Art History Department gives out the following three awards:

  • The Frederick Remington Prize, awarded annually to promising junior Art and Art History majors.
  • The Jeanne Scribner Cashin Prize, recognizing superior achievement by senior Art and Art History majors in the history, theory or practice of visual arts.
  • The Clayton V. Fowler Art History Writing Award, awarded to the authors of outstanding papers in art history, theory, or criticism.

(Please note that the department went through a name change in 2011 from "Fine Arts" to "Art and Art History")

Award Winners, from 1980 to the present


Cashin Award (Outstanding Senior):

  • Clarissa Kurtaliaj Pollard
  • Hannah Porath

Remington Award (Most Promising Junior):

  • Alexandra Dent
  • Carmina Goya
  • Andrew Orne

Fowler Prize (Best Art History Writing):

  • Kaylee White
  • Mia Cence
  • Charles Beams
  • Zakithi Khumalo
  • Kassandra Morris


Cashin Award (Outstanding Senior):

  • Jessica K. Mann '23
  • Sierra G. Potaczek '23
  • Eva B. Yeo '23

Remington Award (Most Promising Junior):

  • Enith Alejandra Altamirano Salazar '24
  • Katherine-Michelle R. Gallipo '24
  • Caroline A. Keller '24
  • Clarissa G. Pollard '24

Fowler Prize (Best Art History Writing):

  • ( No Award Given )


Cashin Award (Outstanding Senior):

  • Hannah Lumbra
  • Cassandra (Raye) Pryce
  • Sophie Robie
  • Michael Yirenkyi

Remington Award (Most Promising Junior):

  • AJ Graff
  • Titania McFarlane
  • Sierra Potaczek
  • Eva Yeo

Fowler Prize (Best Art History Writing):

  • Jenna Koelling
  • Titania McFarlane
  • Cassandra (Raye) Pryce


Remington Prize: Charlotte Childs, Hannah N. Lumbra, Jenna J. Koelling, Sophie E. Robie
Cashin Prize: Nadirah N. Croft, Bennett Hight
Fowler Award: Greta L. Nystrom


Remington Prize: Andrea M. Travis-Millet '21, Margeunsol Yang '21, Yidi Zhang '21, Nadirah Croft '21
Cashin Prize: Flannery R. Dillon '20, Raven M. Larcom '20
Fowler Award: Annabella L. Pugliese '20


Remington Prize: Raven Larcom, Annabella Pugliese
Cashin Prize: Alexis Joy, Hannah Owh
Fowler Award: Hannah Owh, Greta Nystrom


Remington Prize: Andrew P. Hale, Andy Ostler, Hannah Owh, Nicholas S. Trace
Cashin Prize: Lydia L. Bouricius, Ryan Davis, Rachel K. Starr
Fowler Award: Caroline L. Metzger


Remington Prize: Rachel Starr and Caroline Metzger.
Cashin Prize: Rebecca Clayman and Samantha Ormsby.
Fowler Award: Haley DeParde and Rebecca Clayman; Honorable Mention to Lauren Nolan.


Remington Prize: Rebecca L. Clayman and Samantha E. Ormsby.
Cashin Prize: Carolyn L. Dellinger, Bridget A. Fleming, Eve G. Wuthrich, and Tianhe Zhong.
Fowler Award: Olivia M. Rettstatt.


Remington Prize: Heron E. Hetzler, Bridget A. Fleming, and Tianhe Zhong.
Cashin Prize: Reid S. Brechner and Zinnia E. Smith.
Fowler Award: Reid S. Brechner and Zinnia Smith, with Honorable Mention to Kelsey L. Hatch.


Remington Prize: Katelyn Kraunelis and Zinnia Smith.
Cashin Prize: Erik Miller, with Honorable Mentions to Amanda Treco and Alison Walter.
Fowler Award: Kelsey Hatch.


Remington Prize: Erik Miller, Alison Walter, and Amanda Treco.
Cashin Prize: Cho-Wun (Clara) Ma and Ilka P. Hadlock.
Fowler Award: Cho-Wun (Clara) Ma, Zinnia Smith, and Allison Hall.


Remington Prize: Ilka P. Hadlock, Mary K. Simpson, and Cho-Wun (Clara) Ma.
Cashin Prize: Michael P. Cianca, Caitlin E. Amborski.
Fowler Award: Claire M. Alai, Olivia G. McManus, and Sandrine M. Milet.


Remington Prize: Caitlin E. Amborski, Stephanie A. Cutler, and Courtney M. Kuno.
Cashin Prize: Tandazani P. Dhlakama and Fernando T. Gomez.
Fowler Award: Claire M. Alai and Kara M. Amedio.

2010 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Tandazani P. Dhlakama and Fernando T. Gomez.
Cashin Prize: Amy R. Atkins and Valerie E. Nelkin.
Fowler Award: Leah S. Farrar, Sandrine M. Milet, and Jennifer L. Porter with Honorable Mention to Fernando T. Gomez.

2009 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Valerie E. Nelkin and Samantha J. Rodriguez.
Cashin Prize: Carolyn C. Clynes and Grant R. Haynes.
Fowler Award: Jayne E. Galusha, Stanzi R. McGlynn, and Stefanie K. Chappell, with an Honorable Mention to Fernando T. Gomez.

2008 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Grant R. Haynes and Dana M. Smith.
Cashin Prize: Alexa A. Unser and James Daniel K. McCune.
Fowler Award: Samantha S. Lovell and Rebecca A. Riegelhaupt, with Honorable Mentions to Kathryn C. McAndrews and Margaret B. Witherbee.

2007 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Meghan K. Schindler and Alexa A. Unser.
Cashin Prize: Vanessa E. Harvey.

2006 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Vanessa E. Harvey.
Cashin Prize: Crystal A. Ellis and Christopher D. Kimball.
Fowler Award: Marie L. Gage and Amy E. Mahnken.

2005 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Elizabeth H. Condrey and Meghan K. Getsinger.
Cashin Prize: Ashley M. Havens and Greta J. Thomas.
Fowler Award: Sara J. Rademacher.

2004 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Will G. Collins and Ashley M. Havens.
Cashin Prize: Aram A. Muksian and Elizabeth M. Teczar.
Fowler Award: Jennifer M. Angell, Jessica A. Baker.

2003 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Jessica A. Baker, Kelsey L. Hochstatter, and Aram A. Muksian.
Cashin Prize: Lydia M. Brown.

2002 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Lydia M. Brown.
Cashin Prize: Melissa Sinner.

2001 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Vincent Dalpiaz and Jane Monti.
Cashin Prize: Jenifer Backus and Todd Matte.
Fowler Award: Jennifer Weber.

2000 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Bonnie Weigle.
Cashin Prize: Paul Hughes.
Fowler Award: Marci Persons.

1999 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Paul Hughes.
Cashin Prize: Seth Amoroso.
Fowler Award: Jessica Land.

1998 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Seth Amoroso.
Cashin Prize: Stephen O’Brien and Caren Quinn.
Fowler Award: Jennifer Frey.

1997 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Stephen O’Brien and Sarah Dempsey.
Cashin Prize: Diana Bisnett.
Fowler Award: Diana Bisnett and Allison Hudson.

1996 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Diana Bisnett.
Cashin Prize: Patricia Garland.
Fowler Award: Jeniffer Corwin and Sara W. Dempsey.

1995 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Elizabeth Dinkel and Lori Kilner.
Cashin Prize: Cynthia Long.

1994 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Cynthia Long.
Cashin Prize: Jennifer Platten.
Fowler Award: Megan Smith.

1993 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Britt Richards.
Cashin Prize: Eloi J. Hernández.
Fowler Award: Tricia Martin and Eloi J. Hernández.

1992 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Rebecca Davidow.
Cashin Prize: David Gibson.
Fowler Award: James Turner Wells Blaxter.

1991 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Suzanne Matthews.
Cashin Prize: Kristen Thomas.
Fowler Award: Colleen Bashaw.

1990 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Kirsten L. Tauck.
Cashin Prize: Maria Dicaprio and Anne K. Mastromarchi.
Fowler Award: Kristen Thomas.

1989 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Anne Mastromarchi.
Cashin Prize: David Gelfman, Karen Brooke Simon, and Elizabeth A. Wehle.
Fowler Award: Ashley Williams.

1988 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Elizabeth A. Wehle.
Cashin Prize: Pablo Davis.
Fowler Award: Karin Sanborn.

1987 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Pablo Davis.
Cashin Prize:  Elizabeth Bayer and David Platzker.
Fowler Award: Anthony Gaeta.

1986 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: David Platzker.
Cashin Prize: Lori Schaefer.
Fowler Award: Nancy McCowatt and Lori Schaefer.

1985 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize:  Joseph L. Snapp.
Cashin Prize: Jonathan Converse.
Fowler Award: Helen Schonberger-Martin.

1984 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Jane Hueffed and Helen Schonberger-Martin.
Cashin Prize: Barbara Bush and Elizabeth Vilas.

1983 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Barbara Bush.
Cashin Prize: Gwennda Berkeley and Jeanne Noordsy.

1982 — FINE ARTS

Cashin Prize: Kristine Knudsen.

1981 — FINE ARTS

Remington Prize: Caroline Heffron and Philip Clay.
Cashin Prize: Claude Mette.

1980 — FINE ARTS

Cashin Prize: Walter Pascoe.