Mu Sigma Rho Chapter Information

SLU is one of the first liberal arts colleges to have a chapter of the Statistics Honorary Society

St. Lawrence University has received approval to start a new chapter of Mu Sigma Rho, the National Honorary Society for StatisticsFounded in 1965 in Ames, Iowa, Mu Sigma Rho’s aim “is the promotion and encouragement of scholarly activity in statistics and the recognition of worthwhile achievement among the staff and students in eligible academic and nonacademic institutions.”  Students at SLU who have taken enough courses and have a sufficient grade point average may apply to join this honorary society. 

The Mathematics, Computer Science and Statistics department has historical ties to Mu Sigma RhoIn 2004, Professor Robin Lock was the recipient of the Mu Sigma Rho William D. Warde Statistics Education Award which is given “to an individual who has achieved excellence in classroom teaching in the statistics discipline and has shown a lifetime devotion to statistics education.” 

Long a leader in national and international statistics education, St. Lawrence became one of the first liberal arts colleges to have a Statistics major in 2016With five full-time statistics faculty, St. Lawrence University (SLU) is one of the strongest liberal arts programs in statistics in the countryIn 2016, the university graduated its first class of statistics majorsThat year there were four majorsSince then, the program has grown to 22 majors in the Class of 2022.   Recently SLU added a Data Science major which builds on the strength of the Statistics faculty and the Computer Science faculty.   


Any questions please contact Matt Higham.

Mu Sigma Rho Honorary Current Membership

Spring 2024 New Members: Mu Sigma Rho Honorary was held February 2, 2024 with 4 new members accepted.  Congratulations to all! 

Class of 2024: Grace Bridge

Class of 2025:
George Charalambous, Leif Harvey and Tye Royal.

Fall 2023 New Members: Mu Sigma Rho Honorary was held September 12, 2023 and 11 new members were accepted.  Congratulations to all! 

Class of 2024: Jack Cowan, Denali Stevens and Kristen Varin

Class of 2025: Tanner Bessette, Ali du Plessis, Caroline Finkbeiner, Brendan Karadenes, Taylor Lum, Heather McDermott, Brody Pinto and Eric Seltzer

Spring 2023 New Members: Mu Sigma Rho Honorary was held April 18, 2023 and 20 new members were accepted. Congratulations to all!

Class of 2023: Emily Burns, Emma Donohue, Alexander Hill, Trent Meyer, Hans Nsengimana, Charles Reinhardt, Cassie Richter, Jack Sylvia, James Wolpe

Class of 2024: Alyssa Bigness, Hope Donohue, Tess Downing, Tristan Hamilton, Emily Hereth, Lily Kasperek, Ben Moolman, Richard O’Keefe, Hailey Quintavalle, Ben Sunshine, Sarah Weaver