Phi Alpha Theta (National History Honor Society)

SLU students, please note:

Phi Alpha Theta (PAT) is a national honor society for students of history.  They require students to apply for membership through the chapter at their college or university.  The SLU Department of History makes sure that applicants meet PAT's membership requirements, and we induct students into our department's PAT chapter, Pi Eta.  Students submit the membership initiation fee required by PAT to us here at SLU.  However, our department does not keep any part of this fee.  We send the entire membership fee to PAT. 

PAT Mission Statement: "We are a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. We seek to bring students, teachers and writers of history together for intellectual and social exchanges, which promote and assist historical research and publication by our members in a variety of ways."

Requirements for Membership: "Undergraduate students must complete a minimum of 12 semester hours (4 courses) in History, earned in the classroom, online or through AP or transfer credits (or a combination thereof).  A minimum GPA of 3.1 in History and 3.0 GPA overall are required.  A student need not be a history major to apply."

Presently the one-time initiation fee is $50.00 to be paid at the time of application. This fee includes a membership certificate and a one-year subscription to The Historian, a quarterly publication of the Society. Membership in Phi Alpha Theta is a lifetime membership, with no annual dues or fees.

Questions about joining the honorary society may be directed to Jen Berbrich, Department of History administrative assistant, or to chapter advisor Dr. Donna Alvah

You may obtain the PAT application from the History Department office in Piskor Hall.

The application deadline has passed for 2024. 

Please submit your completed application along with your membership initiation fee (cash or check only) to 

Jen Berbrich (Piskor Hall Main Office)

Department of History

St. Lawrence University

23 Romoda Drive

Canton NY 13617

Phi Alpha Theta Scholarships and Awards

Members of Phi Alpha Theta may apply to the national organization for scholarships and other awards from PAT.

Other Opportunities

Annual Conference Call for Papers -

2024 New York-New Jersey Phi Alpha Theta Regional Conference Registration Form -

Recent Phi Alpha Theta Inductees


Aidan T. Atwell

Remick F. Bakey

Luke T. Lundy

Benjamin J. Munn

Greyson F. Pasquina


Madeline E. Clarke

Sophie Grace Belisle Haley

Jada L. Masiclat

Elizabeth Mae Parker

Ian M. Clark


James T. Bushover

Kerlyn E. Caba

Thomas Martin Carter

Ryan Z. Devanny

Keith W. Felix

Emily J. Harris

Joan Tracy Kiely

Cassidy M. Loft

Lucy A. Matthews

Colleen F. McKernan

Kylee A. Monkiewicz

Morgan Rae Montminy

Nathaniel R. H. Moor

Gabriele F. Nedeau

Tyler E. Potter

Anna Frances Sandt

Matthew T. Shadick

William Robert Waller

Serena S. Wells


Grace G, Adams

Katherine G. Caffrey

Brandon R. Calton

Laura K. Gardner

Hannah H. Gregory

Cooper D. McCrillis

Suzanne E. Rickard

Tristin C. Turner


William W. Beyer

Dana M. Congelosi

Kaylee M. Converse

Benjamin Griffin Dario

Amanda S. Dupuis

Madison Frank

Shaina Marian Snyder Gormley

Anneke Huynen

Ailise C. Powers

Nathaniel O. Stowe

Jack C. Twardy

Nicholas D. Vielhauer


Lilly Kate Bianchi

Gretchen E. Brooker

Andrew S. Camarra

Sara L. Casazza

John M. Christensen

Christian John Eveleigh

Grant E. Haffenden

Emily R. Hurlbut

Tamveen Kalo

June F. Kiely

Laramie A. McHugh

Sydney S. Mitchell

Catherine E. O’Connell

Sarah K. Vogel

Garnet J. Williams

Olivia Zachman