Courses | St. Lawrence University Government


The government curriculum focuses on the four main subfields of the discipline: American Politics, Comparative Politics, Political Theory, and International Politics.

The department also has special strengths in American judicial process, media politics, gender politics, international security, and broad coverage of Africa, Asia, Europe, Canada, Middle East, and Latin America. Current course offerings include both introductory and advanced courses in these areas. Students may complete the government major or elect a combined major of government courses and any of the following areas: African studies, Asian studies, Canadian studies, or environmental studies. Students may also choose to combine government courses with the following minor programs: African studies, Asian studies, Canadian studies, Caribbean and Latin American studies, European studies, and Gender studies. For further information on these options, see the sections on Combined Majors and Program Minors in the Catalog.