Sigma Tau Delta: International English Honorary

The Irving Bacheller Society takes its name from a member of the St. Lawrence University class of 1882, the popular journalist and author of Eben Holden, the first bestseller of the twentieth century.  It is an honorary organization comprised of students who have exhibited enthusiasm for, and demonstrated proficiency in, the study of English.

Eligibility for membership is determined by the following requirements: students who have completed at least four English courses must have a 3.5 grade point average in English; students who have completed at least six English courses must have at least a 3.25 grade point average in English.  Overall cumulative GPA in each case must be in the top 35% of the class but not lower than a 3.0.

  • Submit an online application.  Please direct questions regarding the honor society to Sookyoung Lee, Assistant Professor of English and Irving Bacheller faculty advisor.

Irving Bacheller Society, Local Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, The International English Honorary Current Members:

Madison Amico '22
Emma Arden '22
Anniesa Atischand '22
Hannah Finley '22
Ibadat Javed '22
Hannah Lobdell '22
Ava McCann '22
Elizabeth O'Keeffe '22
Hannah Rutkowski '22
Lauren Sharp '22

Members inducted April, 2022:

Curtis Amory '23
Earl Barcomb '22
Lena Boudreau '23
Emily Brisson '22
Alexandra Hill '23
Thao Nguyen '22
Serena Wells '22

Advisor: Dr. Sookyoung Lee