Committee Membership

The Assessment Committee views its primary charge to help shape and direct where and how assessment takes place, make recommendations about who or what group might take responsibility for the assessment process in various divisions, and consider avenues whereby the assessment results might be broadly shared and subsequently applied to ongoing strategic planning.

Committee membership includes faculty, academic affairs staff and student life staff, including (by specific role) the University Registrar, the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, the Associate Dean of the First Year and the Director of Institutional Research.  The Committee holds bi-weekly meetings during the academic year.

Committee Membership for AY 2017-2018

  • Kurt Bouman, Director of the Munn Center for Rhetoric and Communication (Word Studio)
  • Jodi Canfield, Assistant Director of Athletics and Coordinator of Sports Studies and Exercise Science Minor
  • Jessica Chapman, Associate Professor of Statistics
  • Geoff Falen, Director of Career Connections
  • Kirk Fuoss, Director of Rhetoric and Communication Program and Associate Professor of Performance and Communication Arts
  • Michelle Gillie, Access Services Librarian, ODY Library
  • Jennifer Hansen, Associate Dean of the First Year and Professor of Philosophy
  • Evelyn Jennings (Co-chair), Associate Dean of Faculty and Professor of History
  •  Val Lehr , Professor of Government and Gender&Sexuality Studies
  • Lorie MacKenzie, Associate Dean of Academic Administration and University Registrar
  • Christopher Marquart, Assistant Dean of Student Life and Director of Residence Life
  • Karl Schonberg (Chair), Vice President of the University and Dean of Academic Affairs and Professor of Government
  • Mary Jane Smith, Associate Professor of History and Coordinator of African American Studies
  • Robert Thacker, Professor of Canadian Studies and English
  • Christine Zimmerman (Co-chair), Director of Institutional Research