Theta Alpha Kappa

The department maintains a chapter of Theta Alpha Kappa, the national honor society for religious studies and theology.  Founded in 1976 at Manhattan College in Riverdale, New York, the society recognizes academic excellence in students of religious studies and theology.

Membership requirements. Undergraduate Students must have:

            1.         Completed at least three semesters (or five quarters) at an institution having a local chapter in good standing.

            2.         Completed a minimum of twelve (12) semester credits (or eighteen quarter credits) in courses representing Religious Studies or Theological Studies.

            3.         Attained a grade point average of at least 3.5 (B+) in such courses.

            4.         Attained at least a 3.0 grade point average (or B) in their total academic program to date.

            5.         Been ranked in at least the upper 35% of their class in general scholarship at the time of induction.

Theta Alpha Kappa offers several rewards for undergraduates, including the Albert Clark Award  for the best papers in Religious Studies or Theology.  Regalia may also be ordered from TAK's vendor, Kenneth E. Jernigan and Associates at:

Current Theta Alpha Kappa Inductees:


Cannell, Margaret '21
Eliason, Hannah '21
Lawrence, Bryan '22


Sara Casazza '20
Sarah Dancer '20
Christian Eveleigh '20
Jacqueline Greshin '20
Grace Harkins '21
Ryan Hutton '21
Devon Ide '20
Emily Keenan '20
Bennett Nast '21
Matthew Sullivan '20
Riley Whitney '20
Brianna Wickham '20

Past Theta Alpha Kappa Inductees:


Brendan Reilly '20
Catherine Smedley '19
Tristan Thomson '19


Kirstie Bigwarfe '19
Jean-Francois Boucher '18
Maya Bryant '19
Nicole Kubishta '19
Abigail Leathers '19
Nikolas Shangraw '18
Samuel Song '18
Nuala Woods '19


MaryBeth Benzing '17
Isis Flores '19
Isaac Gingras '18
Emma Greenough '18
Abbie Hale '19
Elizabeth Hayden '19
Megan Perkins '18
Sarah Richer '19
Paul Wonka '17


David Adams '17
Aaron Bushey-Hansen '16
Brittany Cuff '16
Hannah Gerke '16
Elizabeth Muller '16
April VanOrman '16


Rachel Bickauskas '16
Elizabeth Boissy '16
Rebecca Budrow '16
Teagan Fleiner-Etheridge '15
Abigail Haley '16


Abby Biron '16
Molly Haskell '15
Chelsey Legacy '14
Sean Morrissey '16