Honors and Student Awards

Honors in Economics

Department honors are awarded to a student who has, upon graduation, at least a 3.5 average in economics courses and has successfully completed an honors thesis ( Archives">Past Honors Theses). Students who expect to pursue an honors project should consult with the department chair in the last semester of the junior year. 

Omicron Delta Epsilon (ΟΔΕ) Honorary 

Membership is open to students who have taken at least five economics courses at SLU, including ECON 251 and ECON 252 and at least one 300-level course, and have an economics GPA of 3.3 or higher and an overall GPA of 3.0 or higher.  (See ΟΔΕ page)

Moving-Up Day Student Awards

John W. Hannon Jr. Honors Award
Given to a senior economics major as recognition of outstanding academic performance.

Robert E. Consler Business Leadership Award
Given to a senior economics major who has an excellent academic record and has demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities.

Outstanding Research Project Award
Awarded to an economics major who has written an outstanding term paper or honors project in the last year.

David H. Richardson Scholarship
Remembering Dana Professor of Economics David Richardson’s dedication to teaching and scholarly research, this scholarship is awarded on a meritorious basis for academic accomplishment to a rising senior economics major.

Charbern Fund Scholarship
Given to a junior economics major as recognition of outstanding academic performance.

Class of 1934 Scholarship
Awarded to a junior economics major on the basis of academic achievement and attitude toward learning.

Lauren V. Clute Memorial Award for Economics
Awarded to a non-major who has excelled in the study of economics, having taken at least four economics courses.