Alpha Kappa Delta Honor Society

The department sponsors a chapter of Alpha Kappa Delta, the national honorary society in sociology.  The purpose of Alpha Kappa Delta is to seek to acknowledge and promote excellence in the scholarship in the study of sociology, the research of social problems, and such other social and intellectual activities as will lead to improvement in the human condition. 

Requirements: Members of AKD must be at least a junior and are expected to have a 3.3 cumulative GPA and a 3.5 GPA in four or more sociology courses taken at SLU.  The status of Life Member is conferred upon those persons who have been approved for membership by a Chartered Chapter of this society and who have paid the initiation fee for membership.  Membership fee is $40.00.  The Sociology Department will pay the initiation fee for Sociology majors and combined Environmental Studies-Sociology majors. 

Please fill out an AKD Membership Form to become an active member.  More information is available from the Sociology Department secretary.

Members of Alpha Kappa Delta include:

Dylan Arpey '17

Quinn Audsley '20

Emily Balter '16

Dominic Brennan '15

Isabel Brennan '19

Madison Carroll '19

Evan Castiranni '14

Ella Charlesworth '21

Merrill Clerkin '14

Natalia Cornell-Roberts '14

Adden Cunningham '15

Jessica Dorr '17

Matthew Edkins '19

Floor Fiers '19

Marissa Foster '20

Paige Friedlander '16

Christiana Galowski '19

Eliza Gillilan '19

Cara Griffith '20

Liz Hills '16

Star-Quana Jackson '14

Sonja Jensen '19

Mackenzie Juda '16

Alex Keightley '16

Anna Kowanko '16

Renee Lavigne '14

Victoria Leimgardt '16

Morgan McCall '15

Madeleine Nasch '20

Margot Nitschke '16

Joanna Patouris '14

Katherine Penalo '15

Rebecca Raab '17

Lucy Ring '16

Alita Rogers '17

Austin Roney '15

Hannah Searle '15

Faith Seeley '16

Julia Simoes '17

Jessica Tyree '15

April VanOrman '16

Caeleigh Warburton '15

Taylor Washington '14

Kimberly Weinberg '16

Carrie Wilder '15

Dayle Wilkinson '14

Lillian Wittwer '17

Nuala Woods '19 

Please see Abye Assefa or the Sociology Department secretary for more information.