Thomas F. Coakley Award


Name of Honor: The Thomas F. Coakley Distinguished Service Award

Established: 2010

Awarded by: St. Lawrence University

Criteria: The Thomas F. Coakley Distinguished Career Service Award, established in 2010, honors distinguished service to the University by an active, permanent hourly employee who has worked at St. Lawrence for a minimum of 10 years as of August 1st of the year of the awarding of the honor.  The award will be presented to an hourly employee who, in the eyes of fellow employees, offers high standards of performance and dedication to St. Lawrence as exemplified by Tom Coakley’s service as Vice President for Administrative Operations.

The award carries a stipend and the names of recipients will be added to a plaque displayed on the wall outside of the President’s Office in Vilas Hall, just as the names of the recipients of the University’s Keene and Maslow awards for faculty and Taylor Award for exempt staff, are displayed proudly.

Eligibility: Active at the time of nomination, permanent employees with at least 10 years of service as of August 1st of the year of the awarding of the honor, are eligible.

Selection process: Nominations are solicited each spring by the President of the University. The President shares nominations with members of the Senior Staff, who select a finalist.

Opportunity for presentation: Generally awarded at Convocation.

Staff liaison: President of the University


Laurie Olmstead
University Advancement

Kevin Irwin
Information Technology

Wendy Stowe

Ann Pedersen
Career Services

Thadine Wight
International & Intercultural Studies

Kevin Wilcox
Skilled Trades

Timberly Hewitt
Student Activities

Evangeline Baker
Registrar's Office

Marilyn Peabody
University Advancement

Debbie Bishop
First-Year Program 

Louise Parks
Human Resources 

Elaine White
Student Life