McCurdy-Sprague Trustees

McCurdy-Sprague trustees are named in honor of Delos McCurdy, one of the first two graduates in the first graduating class in 1865, and Sarah Elmira Sprague, one of the first two women to graduate in 1866. McCurdy-Sprague trustees must have graduated from St. Lawrence between two and 10 years before their election.  McCurdy-Sprague trustees exist to ensure young alumni a voice in University direction and governance. They serve a term of four years.

McCurdy-Sprague trustees are selected by the Board based on the following criteria:

  • Undergraduate success – Academic record/campus perception, evidence of ability to think broadly and strategically, and record of leadership.
  • Professional promise – As evidenced by early direction and accomplishment.
  • Interpersonal skills – As related to potential effectiveness as a trustee colleague, relying upon references from respected staff, faculty and peers.
  • Activity with St. Lawrence since graduation.

The 20 McCurdy-Sprague trustees elected since the inception of this young alumni trustee position in 1999, demonstrate the breadth and diversity we seek for the future. They are:

Martyn Ball ’90 (1999-2001), Managing Director and Head, Preferred & Capital Securities, Piper Jaffray

Jennifer Curley Reichert ’90 (1999-2003), President of The Curley Company (communications and government affairs consulting business). Jennifer currently serves on the Board as a Term Trustee, a position to which she was elected in 2010.  She is Vice Chair of the Board.

Amanda Pearson ’92 (2001-2005), Freelance Academic Editor, Pearson Ink.  Amanda subsequently served as term trustee from 2011-2017.

Charles W.S.  MacKenzie ’94, M.Ed. ’95 (2003-2007), Principal, MacKenzie Equity Partners

Jordan M. Gray ’95 (2005-2009), Managing Director, NFP Corporate Services (NY), LLC

Melissa Wilson MacGregor ’98 (2005-2009), Managing Director and Associate General Counsel, Securities Industry & Financial Markets Association

Denise Durant ’97 (2007-2011), Orthopedic Surgeon, Northwestern Medical Center

Kenneth Okoth ’01 (2007-2011), Deceased.  Former Kibra Constituency Member of Parliament at National Assembly of Kenya

Breanne (Malloy) Madigan ’03 (2009-2013), Head of Institutional Sales & Strategy, Blockchain

John Richardson ’03 (2009-2013), Vice President, Arbor Commercial Mortgage Company in Boston

Zhihong “Hook” Huang ’02 (2011-2015) – Former Chief Operating Officer, Engineers Gate, member of Phi Beta Kappa and Omicron Delta Kappa, Dean’s list, math honorary, Moving Up Day Awards (mathematics award, Charbern Fund Scholarship in economics, Priest Scholarship Prize, outstanding senior award, John W. Hannon Jr. ’44 Honors Award), Association for Campus Entertainment, investment club, International House, Canada abroad, Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges, EMBA from Columbia. Mr. Huang served as a term trustee from 2017-2019.

Tzveta G. Raynova ’02 (2011-2015) – Director, Merger and Acquisitions, Viacom Incorporated in New York, member of Phi Beta Kappa and Omicron Delta Kappa, Dean's list, economics honorary, Faculty Scholar, Thelmo, investment club, dance ensemble, international house, student ambassador, Moving-Up Day award, Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges, MBA from Harvard University.

Jonathan K. Cardinal ’08 (2013-2017) - Director of Economic Development, Office of U.S. Senator Charles Schumer, graduated Summa Cum Laude with Honors in Government, member of Phi Beta Kappa and Omicron Delta Kappa, Thelmo president, Model U.N., Alpha Phi Omega, recipient of the Harry S. Truman Scholarship, career advisor and panelist.

Heather L. McCauley ’06 (2013-2017) – Heather is a social epidemiologist and Assistant Professor in the Department of Human Development & Family Studies at Michigan State University. Her research on which she has published almost 50 peer-reviewed journal articles focuses on the health impacts of intimate partner violence and sexual assault among adolescents and young adults. She earned a Master of Science in Global Health and a Doctor of Science in Social & Behavioral Sciences from Harvard University. McCauley has served on the Alumni Executive Council.  She was re-elected to he Board in 2018 to a six-year term as trustee. 

Morgan (Pendergast) Baker ’08 (2015 – 2019) – At the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, she worked directly with the Harvard AIDS Initiative, Harvard Center for Population and Development Studies, the Chan School’s Executive Committee and Leadership Council, specializing in major gift fundraising and volunteer management. BA in French and Government, member of the sorority Delta Delta Delta, studied abroad in France, served on 5th Reunion Development Committee. Currently resides in Colorado.

Christian J. Ehrhardt ’07 (2015-2019) – Career member of the U.S. Foreign Service, having served in the Middle East, the Caribbean, and Africa. Government major/French minor, studied in France, member of SLU First Responder Team, VP of SLU Republications, student advocate for Judiciary Board, Laurentian in Residence panelist and LINC mentor.

Andrew Alvarez '08 (2017-2021)-- Vice president, financial consultant with Fidelity Investments. Andy graduated from St. Lawrence with a major in economics and a minor in Spanish. He spent his first two years on the cross-country and indoor/outdoor track teams, and participated in the Spain study abroad program. He was a member of the Singing Saints and an Admissions Ambassador for all four years. 

Tabitha Ferrer Flood '08 (2017-2021), Attorney, graduated from St. Lawrence with a bachelor’s degree in government. While at St. Lawrence, Tabitha was a student justice for the Student Judiciary Board, a member of the Thelomathesian Society and a member of the Rugby Club. Tabitha graduated from Howard University School of Law, where she earned the highest GPA in her first-year class.

Ashley Ladd '13 (2019-2023) is a Manager of Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging at HubSpot, a global tech company headquartered in Cambridge, MA. While at St. Lawrence, Ladd majored in performance and communication arts and minored in sociology. She worked as an Admissions Ambassador, studied abroad in London, led recruitment for Kappa Kappa Gamma sorority, and was a member of Singing Sinners. As an alumna, Ladd has volunteered in many capacities, including as a Laurentian Admissions Associate, member of the Alumni Executive Council, Laurentians in Residence participant, member of her Reunion Development Committee and as a site host for SLU Connect-Boston.

Oke McAndrews ’10 (2019-2023) is a vice president in the New York office of Greentech Capital Advisors. He is focused on providing M&A and capital raising advisory services to companies in the renewable energy and sustainable infrastructure sectors.  McAndrews holds a bachelor’s degree in mathematics and economics from St. Lawrence.

Andy Chan '14 (2021-2025) is a Director of Product Management at Avalara, a cloud-based software platform that provides an end-to-end suite of sales and other transactional tax compliance solutions. Chan, who graduated from St. Lawrence with honors in economics, also holds a master’s in analytics from Johns Hopkins University and an MBA from Duke University.

Emma Phillips '16 (2021-2025) is currently the Administrative Specialist for the Office of Self Governance within Indian Affairs at the U.S. Department of Interior. She is also pursuing a Master of Science degree in Sustainability Management within the Kogod School of Business at American University. Phillips was born and raised in Akwesasne, New York, and is a proud enrolled member of the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe. She graduated from St. Lawrence with a degree in environmental studies.