Commencement 2022 Recap

A total of 473 degrees were awarded. There were 464 bachelor’s degrees awarded, including 278 Bachelor of Arts degrees and 186 Bachelor of Science degrees, as well as 9 master’s degrees. A total 38 graduates are candidates for summa cum laude.

The five most popular majors this year are, in descending order:

  • Business in the Liberal Arts
  • Economics
  • Psychology
  • Performance and Communication Arts
  • Government

The senior class member with the highest cumulative grade-point average (GPA) was Ève Dubois of Lac-Beauport, Quebec. Their GPA is 4.0 out of a possible 4.0. They majored in global studies.

The Jeffery H. Boyd ’78 Prize, an award established by the Board of Trustees in 2018 recognizing the overall contributions exemplifying leadership on campus made during the college career of a graduating senior, was awarded by President Kathryn A. Morris to Eduardo Puerta (Construplaza Escazu, Costa Rica).

The 2022 Joan Donovan Speech Contest winner was Ibadat Javed (Irving, Texas), who earned the opportunity to speak to graduates at Commencement.

A degree was awarded posthumously to Enzo Corigliano.

Honorary Degrees

In recognition of their exemplary accomplishments and steadfast commitment to St. Lawrence University, President Emeritus William L. Fox ’75, Lynn Smith Fox, and Grant H. Cornwell Jr. ’79 were awarded the degree Doctor of Humane Letters, honoris causa.

Degrees Presented by Family Members 

It is a tradition at St. Lawrence for graduates to have the option of receiving their degree from family members associated with the University. The following candidates received degrees from relatives:

  • Xavier Cherniak presented by their uncle, Lee Bailey, trustee
  • Ève Dubois, presented by André Couture, trustee
  • Brianna Larrabee, presented by their parent, Beth Larrabee, Center for Career Excellence
  • Mark Mahoney, presented by their parent, Mike Mahoney, men’s lacrosse coach
  • Kaitlyn Pike, presented by grandparent, Joseph Richardson, trustee emeritus
  • Matthew Ranger, presented by uncle, Mike Ranger, trustee
  • Bridger Royce, presented by parent, Kira Royce, Counseling Services
  • Daniel Schuckers, presented by parent, Michael Shuckers, Math, Computer Science & Statistics
  • Chloie Sherburn, presented by parent, Marcus Sherburne, Facilities Operations
  • Will Wilson, presented by grandparent, Bruce Benedict, Chairman Emeritus of the Board of Trustees


President Kathryn A. Morris
President Emeritus William L. Fox '75, honorary degree recipient
Lynn Smith Fox, honorary degree recipient
Grant H. Cornwell Jr. '79, honorary degree recipient
Ibadat Javed '22, Joan Donovan Speech Contest winner
Lauren Arthaud '22, Class of 2022 President
Stewart Nimmo, Brockville Pipes and Drums, North Country Citation winner

Livestream Recording


Genesee Photo Information

Spring 2022 graduation images will soon be available for purchase at Genesee Photo's website.

You can place your order by mail, fax, phone, or online at Please be sure to note our special graduation items such as our graduation plaques and our tassel frames. For any questions you may have, Genesee Photo's customer service is available Mon-Fri from 12 p.m. to 5 p.m. CT. Please contact them at 405-624-1002 or email them at

Genesee Photo System
(405) 624-1002 or 1 (800) 345-7427