You are here

Adding, removing and editing participants in a Sakai site

Related Service: 
Overview: 

Students are automatically enrolled in Sakai sites as Sakai is synchronized with the student registration system. This article explains how project site administrators and instructors can manually add participants to their site.

Details: 

ADDING PARTICIPANTS:

Students enrolled in your class should not need to be added this way. The method below is for manually adding people like TAs, course guests and others who need site access.

  1. Click Site Info in the left toolbar.
  2. Click the Add Participants button located in the top toolbar.
  3. In the Official Participants field, type the email address(es) or the username(s) of the individuals you want to add. Place each entry on its own line (using Enter or Return on your keyboard).
    • If you want to assign new participants to different roles, choose the "Assign each participant a role individually."
  4. Click the Continue button.
  5. Choose the appropriate role for participant(s) you are adding to your site.
    • If you decided to give all participants the same role, you can choose by clicking the radio button next to the role.
    • If you have chose to assign each participant an individual role, you will see that you can choose from the Role dropdown menu to the right of each name.
  6. Click the Continue button.
  7. Choose whether you would like to send an email to notify users that they have been added to your site.
  8. Click the Continue button.
  9. Confirm the list of participants that you have chosen to add to your site and click the Finish button.

EDITING PARTICIPANTS:

  1. Click Site Info in the left toolbar.
  2. Scroll down to the participant list.
  3. Use the drop-down list under Role to select.
  4. If needed, use the drop-down list to change a participant's status, i.e. Active or Inactive (no access).
  5. Click Update Participants.

REMOVING PARTICIPANTS:

This only  applies to ones role in the course or project site.

  1. Click Site Info in the left toolbar.
  2. Scroll down to the participant list.
  3. Under the Remove column (right), check the box next to each participant to be removed.
  4. Click Update Participants.

Share