Transition in Finance | St. Lawrence University President's Office

Transition in Finance

To:        St. Lawrence faculty and staff

From:    Bill Fox, President

Date:     November 20, 2017

I write to inform our university community that Joe Manory, Vice President of Finance and CFO, will step aside from his position on November 30th in order to move in a fresh professional direction and resume a consulting practice.  His significant talents and contributions to St. Lawrence are much appreciated by me, our trustees, and his colleagues.

Jan Albano will become the Acting CFO on December 1st and will serve until next summer when she plans to retire.  We are also fortunate that an ad hoc team of advisors from our Board of Trustees will be available to support our work in preparing budgets and develop strategic financial plans.  Barry Phelps, Chair of the Board Budget and Finance Committee, Shauna King, Vice Chair of the committee (and former Yale CFO), and Mike Ranger, current Vice Chair of the Board, will bring years of experience and wisdom to our ongoing work.

I will appoint a search committee immediately to begin the process of recruiting our next CFO with the support of the national search firm Storbeck Pimentel & Associates, LP.  Shelly Storbeck and Susan Van Gilder know us well and are the best fit for our needs.  We expect to name the next CFO by late spring.  Meanwhile, the current search for the Executive Director of Finance will be suspended until the appointment of the CFO is made.

We extend to Joe our genuine appreciation and best wishes.  I expect to announce the individual names of the new search committee in early December.

Update Dec 6, 2017

To the St. Lawrence Community:

Following my news that Joe Manory, vice president for finance, resigned his position effective November 30, 2017, I have worked with the Board of Trustees, Faculty Council, and the new Thelomathesian Society leadership to invite those named below to serve as the search committee for our next chief financial officer.  The committee will be supported by professional search counsel.  Shelly Storbeck and Susan Van Gilder of the national firm Storbeck Pimentel will assist us.  

Let me thank the new search committee for the work and wisdom they will offer:

Earl “Trip” Samson’80, Committee Chair and trustee       

Shauna King’79, trustee               

Barry Phelps’69, trustee  

Joseph Erlichman, Professor of Biology 

Lisa Torrey, Associate Professor of Computer Science    

Karl Schonberg, Vice President and Dean of Academic Affairs    

Charlie Sullivan ’89, Alumni Executive Council member                  

Tinga Adiang ’20, president-elect of the Thelomathesian Society

Laura Jennings ’18 

Their work will begin immediately; I have full confidence that we will have excellent candidates and will welcome a new colleague to work with us in the important efforts of strategic financial management.

Bill Fox