Honor Societies | St. Lawrence University Performance and Communication Arts

Honor Societies

Alpha Psi Omega (National Theatre Honor Society)

Advisors: Prof. Charlie Pepiton & Prof. Matt Saltzberg

The Omega Mu Cast of Alpha Psi Omega held Fall 2013 inductions on Tuesday, November 12. The inductees were:

Peter ‘Gilly’ Caulo ‘16
Julie Collins ‘14
Maggie Cummins ‘16
Neil Devendorf ‘16
Liz Forman ‘16
Claude Mumbere ‘16

Nate Torres, Technical Director and Production Manager, and Selina French, Costume Shop Supervisor, were also inducted as honorary members.

These individuals join the current members:

Samantha Bice ‘14

Nina Hylen ‘14
Matt Morrison ‘14
Colleen Nerney ‘14
Peter Quigley ‘14
Prof. Ann Marie Gardinier Halstead (Honorary Member)

St. Lawrence is home to the Omega Mu Cast of Alpha Psi Omega; the Spring 2013 cast was SLU’s first APO induction in over 20 years. Begun in the 1920s, Alpha Psi Omega is a National Honor Society recognizing excellence in theatre in higher education. The Society’s objectives are to foster the development of theatrical craft; to cultivate taste for the best in all aspects of theatre; to promote and provide fellowship and service opportunities; and to reward students who have demonstrated superior ability and outstanding effort in support of university theatre. The Society’s motto is: “Seek a life useful.” The member’s motto is: “We seek to become humble artists by the one and only road of labor and service.”

To be eligible for membership, students must: be regularly enrolled as students at St. Lawrence University; have completed at least two (2) semesters of participation in theatre/performance work at the university level; carry an overall GPA of 3.0 or better; carry a GPA of 3.25 or better in the Dept. of Performance & Communication Arts; and exhibit participation in a variety of production tasks (which follow a point system; students are awarded a certain amount of points for everything they do, depending on the nature of their particular involvement). Participations points must come from at least two (2) categories: performance, production, directing, dramaturgy, writing, and theatre education.

For more information on Alpha Psi Omega, visit http://www.alphapsiomega.org.

Lambda Pi Eta (Official honor society of the National Communication Association - NCA)

Advisor: Prof. Jessica Prody

St. Lawrence is the Alpha Beta Tau chapter of the organization and Spring 2003 was our inaugural induction term. The purposes of the Honor Society, according to its constitution are:

  1. To recognize, foster, and reward outstanding scholastic achievement;
  2. To stimulate interest in the field of communication;
  3. To provide an opportunity to discuss and exchange ideas in the field of communication;
  4. To promote and encourage professional development among communication majors;
  5. To establish and maintain close relationships and mutual understanding between faculty; and students;
  6. To explore options for further graduate education.

To be eligible for membership, students must have completed 60 semester hours (90 quarter hours) in undergraduate credit courses; have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0; have completed the equivalent of 12 semester hours (18 quarter hours) in courses in communication; have a grade point average of at least 3.25 in these courses; be in the upper 35% of their graduating class; and be currently enrolled as a full-time student in good standing with their institution.

The Spring 2013 cast included:

JJ Stopyra '13
Brooke Hessney '13
Allison Shea '13
Alina DeCarolis '13
Rebecca Mason '13
Eileen Spellman '14
Mercedes Case '13
Christina Robichaud '14
Saddie Serviss '14

We also inducted Dr. Traci Fordham, Dr. Kirk Fuoss, and Dr. Randy Hill as honorary members.
Currently (2013-2014), Christina Robichaud and Saddie Serviss are serving as co-presidents.

For more information on Alpha Psi Omega, visit www.natcom.org/lambdapieta/.