St. Lawrence Names 75 Augsbury/North Country Scholars | St. Lawrence University

St. Lawrence Names 75 Augsbury/North Country Scholars

St. Lawrence University has named 75 outstanding high school seniors from across Northern New York State and Canada as Augsbury/North Country Scholars for the Class of 2018.

Initiated in 1974, the program recognizes academic and co-curricular leadership among designated students at 89 New York and 17 Canadian high schools in Ontario and Quebec. Guidance counselors from participating high schools have the opportunity to nominate up to two candidates for the award.

Students selected as Augsbury/North Country Scholars are awarded a merit scholarship of $27,000 per year for four years, should they decide to enroll at the University. Nominees who are not selected for the scholarship receive an award of $10,000 per year for four years if they choose to attend St. Lawrence.

Nominees from New York schools must be a U.S. citizen or U.S. permanent resident and must have a cumulative grade point average of 90 or higher at the end of six semesters. Nominees from Canadian schools must be a Canadian citizen and have a cumulative grade point average of 80 or better after six semesters.

Nominees have until May 1 to make their enrollment choice (unless the application was submitted Early Decision).

The following is a list of selected Augsbury/North Country Scholars and their high schools:

St. Lawrence County

  • Abby E. Alford, St. Lawrence Central
  • Maeve C. Bowdish, Lisbon
  • Michael J. Burns, Parishville-Hopkinton
  • Shane A. Fuentes, St. Lawrence Central
  • Abigail E. Gruneisen, Potsdam
  • Brianna M. Hayes, Parishville-Hopkinton
  • Cadence L. Hunkins, Norwood-Norfolk
  • Hannah E. Kingsley, Gouverneur
  • Jessica L. LaMay, Madrid-Waddington
  • Benjamin L. Miller, Potsdam
  • Emily T. Murphy, Madrid-Waddington
  • Lindsay I. Proulx, Hugh C. Williams
  • Aidan T. M. Scagel, Heuvelton
  • Jacqueline A. Sovie, Lisbon
  • Madelyn F. St. Pierre, Heuvelton
  • Marthalyn K. Sweet, Gouverneur
  • Megan M. Wells, Massena

Jefferson County

  • Micaiah M. Bradley, Watertown
  • Darien B. Frederick, Thousand Islands
  • Rebecca L. Gray, General Brown
  • Ashley S. Howard, Thousand Islands
  • Amanda P. Rookey, Sackets Harbor
  • Claire L. Sauter, Carthage
  • Nikolas R. Shangraw, Alexandria
  • Courteney D. Stepanek, Carthage
  • Alexandra M. Townsend, Sackets Harbor
  • Kennedy J. Wilcox, Indian River
  • Heather L. Williams, South Jefferson

Lewis County

  • James C. Merrell, Lowville Academy
  • Olivia C. Moshier, Lowville Academy
  • Nola T. Pominville, Beaver River
  • Lauryn A. Smith, Harrisville
  • Carlo R. Tan-Alberto, Copenhagen

Clinton County

  • Aleasha N. Barcomb, Beekmantown
  • Kayse M. Brunell, Plattsburgh
  • Bradley T. Cech, Beekmantown
  • Alexis T. Haley, Saranac Central
  • Heidi D. Kreckel, Chazy
  • Connor S. McSweeney, Plattsburgh
  • Maria R. Remillard, Peru
  • Kylie J. Rivers, Northeastern Clinton
  • Dillon P. Savage, AuSable Valley
  • Logan L. Snow, AuSable Valley
  • Paige E. Spittler, Seton Catholic

Essex County

  • Jackson R. Burdett, National Sport Academy
  • Aaron C. DeLoria, Newcomb
  • Matthew S. Edwards, Northwood
  • Shannan J. Keysor, Northwood
  • Gabrielle E. McNally, Minerva
  • Anthony Miller, Lake Placid
  • Gabe B. Warner, Keene
  • Erin C. Weaver, Lake Placid

Franklin County

  • Mitchel R. Keniston, Tupper Lake
  • Jocelynn C. Martin, Salmon River
  • Samantha A. Martin, Saranac Lake
  • Isai A. Paredones Araque, Franklin Academy
  • Haakon A. Pedersen, Saranac Lake
  • Marissa L. Perez, Franklin Academy
  • Abigail M. Sexton, Tupper Lake

Oneida County

  • Mackenzie M. Gardner, Adirondack

Warren County

  • Meghan E. Eagan, North Warren
  • Nicholas X. Ferranti, Queensbury
  • Lydia I. Kenney, North Warren
  • Whitney C. Markwica, Warrensburg
  • Emily K. Parent, Glens Falls
  • Clare F. Severance, Queensbury
  • Shiloh V. Wood, Johnsburg

Washington County

  • Anne K. Buck, Argyle
  • Emily K. Campbell, Granville
  • Sarah K. Cuddihy, Cambridge
  • Maxwell C. English, Greenwich
  • Thaddeus A.G. Jones, Hartford
  • Brandon L. Steves, Whitehall
  • Mackenna L. Wood, Hudson Falls


  • Zachary O. Wells (of New Canaan, Conn.), Trinity College School