NY6 Presidents Reject Call for Boycott | St. Lawrence University

NY6 Presidents Reject Call for Boycott

ITHACA, N.Y. — The presidents of the New York Six Liberal Arts Consortium today issued a statement rejecting the American Studies Association’s call for a boycott of academic institutions in Israel.  The statement reads:

We the Presidents of the six schools that make up the New York Six Liberal Arts Consortium (Colgate University, Hamilton College, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, St. Lawrence University, Skidmore College, Union College) reject the call for a boycott of Israeli academic institutions recently announced by the American Studies Association.  We agree with the American Association of University Professors that the ASA resolution is "a setback for the cause of academic freedom."  We have found that interaction and collaboration are by far the best way for schools to investigate the most significant problems our society faces.  We will continue to encourage our colleagues to engage with faculty and institutions in Israel and across the world to promote scholarship and the free exchange of ideas, and to provide additional opportunities for our students.

In addition to St. Lawrence President William L. Fox '75, the New York Six presidents signing on to this statement are Jeffrey Herbst, Colgate; Joan Hinde Stewart, Hamilton; Mark Gearan, Hobart and William Smith; Philip Glotzbach, Skidmore; and Stephen Ainlay, Union.

The New York Six Liberal Arts Consortium facilitates collaboration among its member institutions in fulfilling their educational missions and serving the public good. Through the sharing of expertise and resources, the Consortium enhances options for students, faculty, and staff, while reducing colleges' individual and collective operating and capital costs.