Eleanor Jane Lahey Dumas (1916-1997) was employed with the Massena Observer until her marriage and later became a Watertown Daily Times Massena correspondent in the early 1940s. Mrs. Dumas covered Northern New York and Southern Ontario until her retirement in 1976. Eleanor is most noted for covering high profile events in the North Country, such as Eleanor Roosevelt's visit to St.
Dwight "Dippy" P. Church was born in Canton, St. Lawrence County, N.Y. in 1891 and resided there until his death in 1974. He owned and operated the $5 Photo Company for sixty years. Mr. Church was one of the first mail-order film processors and later specialized in aerial photography, photographing farms and businesses, selling the pictures to the owners.
Edmund Wilson, American literary and social critic, was born in Red Bank, New Jersey in 1895. He graduated from Princeton University in 1916. In 1920 he became the managing editor of "Vanity Fair", and later was on the staffs of the "New Republic" (1926-31) and "New Yorker" (1944-48).
Essex County the second largest county in New York State, is the most mountainous of the counties and became a county March 1, 1799. Essex County is bordered on the north by Clinton and Franklin Counties, on the south by Warren County, and the east by Lake Champlain and on the west by Hamilton County. The county has approximately 25 villages and towns with the county seat in Elizabethtown.
Collection of eight illuminated parchment scrolls and one illuminated parchment codex in Geez and Amharic, pertaining to the Ethiopian Orthodox Church, from the late 19th or early 20th century. This collection was acquired in 1998.
Fort Covington was erected from Constable, February 28, 1817, and in the formation of Bombay, reduced to its present limits. Its name is derived from Brig. Gen. Leonard Covington of Maryland who died near Cornwall and was buried on Covington Hill in 1813. The village is east of Salmon River, half a mile from the boundary of the St. Lawrence River.
Fort Drum has been used as a military training site since 1908 when it was known as Pine Camp. The first major expansion of Pine Camp came with the outbreak of WWII. Pine Camp became Camp Drum in 1951, named after Lt. Gen. Hugh A. Drum who commanded the First Army during World War II. The post was designated Fort Drum in 1974 and a permanent garrison was assigned. In April 1980, B.
Francis (Frank) Everington Kip was born October 10, 1835 in Watertown, New York. Frank was one of the many men to go to California in search of gold (1852-1856). Frank Kip joined the 11th New York Cavalry and was killed (April 18, 1865) during the last few days of the Civil War in Germantown.
The Frank family was a prominent Ogdensburg, New York family active in business and civic life for over 100 years. Julius Frank was mayor, and a member of the Chamber of Commerce.
Frank Peter Piskor, former president of St. Lawrence University, first met Robert Frost at the Bread Loaf School of English while Dr. Piskor was a student at Middlebury College in the mid-1930s. He collected materials by and about Frost in a variety of formats.