You are here

Arthur and Shirley Einhorn Iroquois Collection

Arthur and Shirley Einhorn Iroquois Collection

Collection Number: 
Collection Length: 
1900 to 2013
Finding Aid: 
Replica Iroquois wampum belt made by Arthur Einhorn


The Native American tribal confederacy known as the Iroquois, or Haudenosaunee consists of six tribal entities or nations, primarily located in New York State and Canada. The tribes share similar language and formed a five-member tribal affiliation before contact with Europeans. Today, the Six Nations of the Iroquois Confederacy consists of the Mohawks, Onondagas, Senecas, Cayugas, Oneidas and the Tuscaroras, with the latter tribe joining later.


Arthur Einhorn is an anthropologist who spent a long career as a teacher, and scholar of Native peoples in Northern New York. For many years, Mr. Einhorn taught history at Lowville Academy, where he was the first to teach New York State-approved courses in anthropology for high school students. He also served as an Associate Professor of Anthropology at Jefferson Community College, Lewis County historian, and director of the Lewis County Historical Association and Museum. Einhorn was also an Associate Director of the Institute for Indians in Higher Education at St. Lawrence University. While his main scholarly interest was native groups of the Caribbean region, much of Einhorn’s professional work has been with the Iroquois tribes in New York and Canada.

Scope and Content:

The collection consists mainly of books, journal articles, personal notes, papers and other items reflecting Mr. Einhorn’s research on the Iroquois from the 1950s through 2013. Unbound articles and other research materials are listed and boxed alphabetically by last name. Bound books are cataloged individually on the Libraries’ online catalog, and are searchable under the title “Arthur and Shirley Einhorn Iroquois Collection”.


Gift of Arthur and Shirley Einhorn, July, 2015