History Department Writing Awards 2010-11 | St. Lawrence University History

History Department Writing Awards 2010-11

The History Department is accepting submissions for the 2010-2011 writing awards from now until the last day of the spring semester:

Robert B. Carlisle Research Paper Award
For a 15-25 page paper written for a 300- or 400-level course, including a senior seminar or an independent study SYE (open to History majors and minors only, but closed to History honors projects)

Sophomore/Junior Historiographical Essay Award
For a historiographical essay written for a HIST 299 seminar

First Year/Sophomore Short Analytical Essay Award
For a 5-10 page paper written for a History course at any level (open to majors as well as non-majors)

2010 winners of the writing awards included:

Carlisle Award: John Ponitus, "Kenya's Female Circumcision Crisis (1928-1931: How the Kikuyu Central Association Found a Following"

 Sophomore/Junior Historiography: Jenna Wallace, "Global Feminism or Imperial Discourse:  Evaluating British Women's Impact on the Indian Women's Movement"

 *Honorable Mention: Bob Hummel, " Batting .300: Baseball in Post-Revolutionary Cuba"

 First-Year/Sophomore Analytical Essay: Stephanie Anne O'Rourke, "We Shall Reconstruct"

To apply,  a student must submit three clean copies (not the graded version with faculty comments) as well as an e-copy of the paper to the department secretary (rhew@stlawu.edu) by the award deadline.  Papers written for classes in the current academic year (Fall 2010 or Spring 2011) are eligible.  All submissions must have a cover sheet with the following information:

    * Submitter's full name
    * Paper Title
    * Course number and title
    * Submitter's contact information

No identifying information should appear beyond the cover sheet.

Each award carries a prize of a $50.00 Bookstore Gift Certificate.

Submission deadline:  May6.  Early entries happily accepted!