Beta Beta Beta, Biology Honorary, Holds Fall Inductions

Fall inductions for Beta Beta Beta (Tri-Beta), the biology honorary, were held on Friday September 23rd in the lobby of Johnson Hall of Science. Claire Albrecht, Yvonne Boateng, Vanessa Chilunda, Amanda Gellis, Allison Macri, Heather Raimer and Anastasija Useva were inducted into the society. Beta Beta Beta (TriBeta) is a national biology honorary founded in 1922 that is “dedicated to improving the understanding and appreciation of biological study and extending boundaries of human knowledge through scientific research.” The national organization publishes a journal, BIOS, to recognize outstanding individuals and chapter accomplishments. In addition, biannual national and annual district conventions are hosted to offer students and faculty from all over the country a chance to meet, attend and contribute research presentations. The Alpha Iota chapter of Beta Beta Beta was established at St. Lawrence University in 1942. Our local chapter is comprised of Biology, Biochemistry, Conservation Biology and Neuroscience majors. In keeping with the apprentice-biologist nature of the society, it promotes scholarship in the biological sciences and contributes to the dissemination of biological knowledge by sponsoring an annual outstanding senior award and hosting various events throughout the fall and spring semesters. Some of these events include panel discussions on summer research opportunities or applying to graduate and/or professional schools and science outreach events such as sponsoring badges for the local Girl Scout troops and Brain Blast. In addition, the Alpha Iota chapter also assists the biology department with various types of service and supports the local community through annual fund-raising.