Faculty Administrative Calendar

FALL 2018 - FACULTY ADMINISTRATIVE CALENDAR

This calendar is subject to change. Please check for updates on the Academic Affairs web page.

FACULTY MEETINGS
Scheduled on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each month at 4:30 p.m. in Hepburn Auditorium (H218). **

DEPARTMENT CHAIR MEETINGS
Scheduled on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 4:30 p.m. in Hepburn 113.

**Meetings may be cancelled and/or rescheduled at the discretion of Faculty Council.

**Any changes in the schedule of meetings will be announced by e-mail by Faculty Council.

Tues., July 31 Major/Minor approvals due from department chairs to Registrar’s Office for August degree conferrals.

Wed., Aug. 15 Deadline for submission of Graduate applications for Fall 2018.

Mon., Aug. 20 Deadline for faculty and staff evaluations for students applying for the

International Student Exchange Program (ISEP) for Spring 2019 - due in Studio Abroad application system

Mon. August 20 Student application deadline for Spring 2019 off-campus study with ISEP.

Wed.-Thurs., New Faculty Orientation.

Aug. 22-23

Fri., Aug. 24 New Adjunct Faculty Orientation

Sun., Aug. 26 New Student Orientation Begins.

Sun., Aug. 26 Family Orientation.

Sun., Aug. 26 8:00 a.m. Residential buildings open for first-year and transfer students (First-year students check in at assigned residence hall; transfer students check-in at Student Center).

Sun., Aug. 26 3:30 p.m. Matriculation Ceremony, Creasy Commencement Commons (rain location: Newell Field House). For new students, families, faculty and staff.

Mon., Aug. 27 8:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m. Residential buildings open for upperclass students. Check in at Student Center (2nd Floor).

Mon., Aug. 27 10:15 a.m. and 11:00 a.m. Academic Planning Panels for FYP students (various locations).

1:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. Academic Advising for FYP and transfer students (faculty offices).

Tues., Aug. 28 10:10 a.m. -12 p.m. First FYP class meeting. Various locations.

Tues., Aug. 28 Open registration for ALL students will run from 12:00 p.m. – 12:00 a.m. (noon – midnight) in APR2.

Wed., Aug. 29 8:30 a.m. Classes begin.

Wed., Aug. 29 4:30 p.m. Convocation Ceremony, Gunnison Chapel. Convocation is the first formal assembly of each academic year. The President sets forth the goals and challenges of the coming year in the State of the University Address, new faculty and administrative staff are introduced to the university community, and significant accomplishments of faculty and staff are recognized with awards.

Fri., Aug. 31 3:00 p.m. First-Year Cup Festival.

Fri., Aug 31 Admissions Visit Day.

Mon., Sept. 3 Graduate classes begin.

Tues., Sept. 4 After the first two class meetings or the first three-hour class that meets once per

(Mon., Wed., Fri. classes) week, instructors have the option to drop students for not attending or not making

Wed., Sept. 5 arrangements for missing classes, if the class has a maximum enrollment. The

(Tues., Thurs., classes) Registrar must be informed in writing of such action.

Thurs., Sept. 6 Last day to: (Undergraduate level)

~Change sections within the same course.

~Submit an overload form to the Registrar’s office (due by 4:30 p.m.).

~Add a course.

~Drop a course

NOTE: 1. No record of adds/drops is made on the transcript through this date. 2. No tuition refund for over-credits is made for courses dropped after this date. 3. A student may add or drop a course after this date only by petition to the Academic Petitions Committee; if approved, the student is subject to a late schedule change fee of $50. 4. A student may withdraw from a course until November 9, 2018, by filing a properly executed course withdrawal form in the Registrar’s office; notation of withdrawal appears on the transcript. Three and one-half units are required to maintain full time status. Students may exercise the option to withdraw from a course only twice before graduation. Students with an exceptional case may petition the Academic Petitions Committee.

Fri.-Sun. Homecoming Weekend.

Sept. 7-9

Mon. September 10 Student application deadline for Off Campus Study in Spring 2019.

Mon. September 10 Deadline for faculty and staff recommendations for students applying for

Off-Campus Study for Spring 2019 - due in Studio Abroad application system (CIIS)

Mon. Sept. 10 Course spreadsheets (1st round) for Spring 2019 sent to Department Chairs for review.

Tues., Sept 11 Last day for Add/Drop. (Graduate level)

Thurs., Sept. 13 10:00 a.m.-12:20 p.m. First Year Convocation, in Gunnison Chapel.

Fri., Sept. 14 Deadline for submission of new course proposals to the Academic Affairs Committee for

Spring 2019 semester.

Fri., Sept. 14 Corrected final class rosters are due.

Fri., Sept. 14 Office of Academic Support begins soliciting Early Warnings from faculty.

Sun., Sept. 23 Deadline to submit to CIIS – applications for travel components for spring semester courses.

Mon., Sept. 24 Course spreadsheets (1st round) with changes from Department Chairs for Spring 2019 are due in
the Registrar’s Office.

Mon. Sept 24 Faculty application deadline for Short term Travel components Spring 2019 - submit to CIIS.

Fri.-Sun., Family Weekend.

Sept. 28 - 30

Mon., Oct. 1 Faculty Large Research Grant proposals are due in the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs office, Vilas 103.

Tues., Oct. 2 Higher Education Night, Leithead Field House.

Fri., Oct. 5 Honors Reception.

Mon., Oct. 8 Course spreadsheets (2nd round) for Spring 2019 sent to Department Chairs for additional review.

Mon., Oct. 8 Completed Tenure Files are due in Dean’s Office, Vilas 103.

Mon., Oct. 8 Admissions Visit Day.

Wed., Oct. 10 Departments must submit to the Registrar, Vilas Hall 117, the names of students eligible to receive an X-grade for that semester. Names submitted after the deadline must be approved by petition to the Academic Affairs Committee.

Fri., Oct. 12 Final grades for Spring and Summer incompletes are due in the Registrar’s office. Must be submitted using a Grade Change form (end of 6th full week).

Mon., Oct. 15 Course spreadsheets (2nd round) with changes from Department Chairs for Spring 2019 due in the Registrar’s Office.

Thurs.-Sun., Mid-semester Break. Residential buildings remain open.

Oct. 18 - 21

Fri., Oct. 19 Spring 2019 Course Schedule (PDF file) published.

Mon., Oct. 22 APR 2.0 course listing for Spring 2019 available.

Mon., Oct. 22 Mid-semester warning grades are due by midnight. This deadline is important for the computer run, to inform students of progress to date and for counseling by advisors. (These grades are visible to students in the Student Portal. Advisors will be informed of these warnings from the Office of Academic Advising, and can access midterm grades for their advisees in the Fac/Staff Portal.)

Tues., Oct. 23 Advising period begins for Spring 2019 registration.

Thurs.-Fri., Laurentians in Residence.

Oct. 25-26

Thurs.-Sat., Fall Meeting of the Board of Trustees.

Oct. 25 – 27

Thurs.-Sat Campaign for Every Laurentian

Oct. 25-27

Thurs.-Sun., Alumni Council Fall Meeting.

Oct. 25-28

Tues., Oct. 30 Names of faculty nominated for promotion are due in the Dean’s office, Vilas 103.

Fri., Nov. 2 Last day for students to submit instructor-approved Pass/Fail form to the Registrar’s Office for processing. (end of the 9th full week of classes)

Fri., Nov. 2 Spring semester book orders are due at the Bookstore from the faculty.

Sun., Nov. 4 Daylight Savings ends.

Mon., Nov. 5 Last day for faculty to request a change for a course’s final exam date from the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, Vilas 103.

Mon., Nov. 5 Last day for faculty to request special space requirements for final exams from Room Reservations.

Mon. Nov 5 Student application deadline for travel research and enrichment grants.

Mon., Nov. 5 Deadline for Faculty/Staff Recommendations for Student Travel Research and Enrichment Grants through Studio Abroad application system (CIIS)

Mon.-Thurs., Undergraduate Registration begins.

Nov. 5 - 8

Fri., Nov. 9 Last day to withdraw from a course (undergraduate and graduate level). (end of 10th full week of classes)

Mon., Nov. 12 Admissions Visit Day.

Mon., Nov. 12 Graduate Registration begins.

Fri., Nov. 16 5:00 p.m. Residential buildings close.

Mon., Nov. 19 5:00 p.m. Thanksgiving Recess begins.

Sun., Nov. 25 8:00 a.m. Residential buildings re-open.

Mon., Nov. 26 8:30 a.m. Classes resume.

Fri. Nov 30 Student Application deadline for Summer 2019 off-campus study programs.

Fri., Nov. 30 Deadline for faculty and staff evaluations for students applying for off-campus SUMMER
programs
for Summer 2019 – due in Studio Abroad application system (CIIS)

Mon.-Thurs., Last week of classes. No final exams, hour exams, or their equivalent are to be

Dec. 10-13 scheduled during this period or during Study Recess, December 10th and 13th. Exams begin December 17th. In as much as labs do not have scheduled exam periods, lab practicals may be given during the final week of classes.

Thurs., Dec.13 Last day of classes.

Fri. & Sat. Study Recess: No final exams are to be given.

Dec. 14-15

Sun., Dec. 16 Final examinations begin. Any faculty change of a final exam date/time from the Registrar’s published final exam schedule must have been approved by Mon., Nov. 5th, by the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, Vilas 103.

Thurs., Dec. 20 Final examinations end.

Fri., Dec. 21 5:00 p.m. Residential Buildings close.

Sat., Dec. 22 Winter Break begins.

Fri., Dec. 28 11:59 p.m. Deadline to turn in fall semester grades to the Registrar’s office. This deadline is important for the compilation of final grade reports and for determining academic standing of students.

Wed., Jan. 2 Academic Standing Committee meeting (Tentative).

Wed., Jan. 9 Appeals of suspension due by noon.

Thurs., Jan. 10 Academic Standing Committee meets to hear appeals for suspended students (Tentative).

Thurs., Jan. 10 Deadline for Graduate Application for Spring 2019.

Sat.-Mon. Sophomore Career Boot Camp.

Jan. 12 – Jan. 14

Mon., Jan. 14 Noon. Residential Buildings re-open.

Wed., Jan. 16 Classes begin spring semester.