Phi Sigma Tau Honorary Society

St. Lawrence University:  New York Alpha Chapter

Requirements for Membership

In order to be eligible for membership in Phi Sigma Tau, a student must have completed three semesters at St. Lawrence, be in the top 35% of her or his class year, and must have taken at least two courses in philosophy with a philosophy average of at least 3.5.  It is not necessary to be a major or minor in philosophy to join Phi Sigma Tau.  Currently, the initiation fee for joining is $25.00, to be paid on or before the induction ceremony.  Induction ceremonies are held once or twice per year. The society declares its purpose as follows:

To serve as a means of awarding distinction to students having high scholarship and personal interest in philosophy; to promote student interest in research and advanced study in this field; to provide opportunities for the publication of student research papers of merit; to organize a professional spirit and friendship among those who have displayed marked ability in this field; to popularize interest in philosophy among the general collegiate public.

Members receive a certificate of membership, a membership card, the current issues of Dialogue (the society's journal for publishing undergraduate papers), the Phi Sigma Tau Newsletter, and a one year membership in the Phi Sigma Tau National Alumni Chapter after graduation. 

Congratulations to this semester's New Members!

Joining current members Emily Crawford, Nicholas DeSantis, Mariah Dignan, Ryan Ficano, Abagael Giles, Kayla Hebert, Brittany McDonald, Luke Matys, Qingyue Pan (Sherry), Ashley Richardson, Jamie Tempesta, and Yichi Zhang (Raven), are this semester's new members, inducted April 29, 2015:

  • Kelly Appenzeller
  • Taber Engelken
  • Alida Farrell
  • Bridget Fleming
  • Samuel Mullin
  • Emily Smith

The officers going into the 2015-2016 academic year are:

  • President: Mariah Dignan
  • Vice-President: (open)
  • Secretary: Ryan Ficano
  • Treasurer: Yichi Zhang (Raven)