PCA Department Establishes, Revives Honoraries

St. Lawrence's Performance and Communication Arts department recently honored its students at a reception that included the inaugural induction of St. Lawrence's communication honorary and a reactivation of the University's theatre honorary.

St. Lawrence's Alpha Beta Tau chapter of Lambda Pi Eta, the official honor society of the National Communication Association, celebrated its inaugral induction on Wednesday, May 1.

Inductees included Jonathan Stopyra '13, Brooke Hessney '13, Allison Shea '13, Alina DeCarolis '13, Rebacca Mason '13, Eileen Spellman '14, Mercedes Case '13, Christina Robichaud '14 and Saddie Serviss '14.

Also inducted were Associate Professor of Performance and Communication Arts Traci Fordham, Associate Professor of Performance and Communication Arts and Director of Rhetoric and Communication Kirk Fuoss and Associate Professor of Performance and Communication Arts Randall Hill.

The purpose of Lambda Pi Eta is to recognize, foster and reward outstanding scholastic achievement, stimular interest in the field of communication, provide an opportunity to discuss and exchange ideas in the field of communication, promote and encourage professional development among communication majors, establish and maintain close relationships and mutual understanding between faculty and students and to explore options for further graduate education.

Students must have completed four PCA courses, have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 and have a grade point average of at least 3.25 in their PCA courses. They must be in the top 35 percent of their graduating class and be a full-time student in good standing with St. Lawrence.

For the first time in more than 20 years, St. Lawrence's Omega Mu chapter of Alpha Psi Omega, the national theatre honor society, inducted new members. Matt Saltzberg and Charles Pepiton, both visiting assistant professors of performance and communication arts, reactivated the chapter this year.

The spring 2013 cast inducted includes Samantha Bice ‘14, Sara Boardman ‘13, Sara Cushing ‘13, Nina Hylen ‘14, Rebecca Mason ‘13, Sean McGuire ‘13, Matt Morrison ‘14, Colleen Nerney ‘14, Peter Quigley ‘14, Robert “Rich” Richardson ‘13, E. Riley Spellman ‘13, Jonathan Stopyra ‘13 and Ann West ‘13.

They also inducted Associate Professor of Performance and Communication Arts Ann Marie Gardinier Halstead as an honorary member.

Begun in the 1920s, Alpha Psi Omega recognizes excellence in theatre in higher education. The Society’s objectives are to foster the development of theatrical craft; to cultivate taste for the best in all aspects of theatre; to promote and provide fellowship and service opportunities; and to reward students who have demonstrated superior ability and outstanding effort in support of university theatre.

To be eligible for membership, students must: be regularly enrolled as students at St. Lawrence University; have completed at least two (2) semesters of participation in theatre/performance work at the university level; carry an overall GPA of 3.0 or better; carry a GPA of 3.25 or better in the Department of Performance & Communication Arts; and exhibit participation in a variety of production tasks. Participations points must come from at least two (2) categories: performance, production, directing, dramaturgy, writing, and theatre education.