Faculty, Staff Receive Awards, Promoted at St. Lawrence

St. Lawrence University honored several employees with awards for their outstanding service and recognized a number of faculty promotions during its Convocation ceremony held on Wednesday, Aug. 27, marking the start of the academic year.

Erika Barthelmess, associate professor and co-chair of biology, received the J. Calvin Keene Award, and Catherine Tedford, director of the Richard F. Brush Art Gallery, received the Louis and Frances Maslow Award.

Ruta Ozols, buyer and warehouse manager, received the John P. “Jack” Taylor Distinguished Career Service Award, while Evangeline (Vangie) M. Baker, chief clerk in the Office of Registrar, received the Thomas F. Coakley Distinguished Career Service Award.

The Keene Award was established in 1975 and is given to a faculty member in recognition of high standards of personal scholarship, effective teaching and moral concern. Barthelmess impresses students as a mentor, a teacher and an adviser as well as for her scholarly contributions and contributions to the community. Student nominators note, “She is genuinely interested in the success of her students and is constantly looking for ways to develop and improve upon her personal pedagogy.” Barthelmess is also the project manager for Nature Up North, an organization focused on the North Country community and aimed at fostering a greater appreciation for wildlife and nature.

The Maslow Award was established in 1980 and goes to the faculty member who has shown the most interest in and understanding of the education and welfare of the student body as a whole. Tedford has collaborated with numerous colleagues, helping to define projects that foster an appreciation of the arts and humanities in order to explore cultures, political questions and the beauty of the natural world. Her work on street art is having a significant impact on the St. Lawrence community; she traveled to Berlin with students last year and worked closely with them to create a gallery exhibition.

The Taylor Award was established in 1995 and recognizes distinguished service to the University by an administrator who has worked at least 12 years at St. Lawrence. Ozols, who has worked for St. Lawrence since 1985, has been described by colleagues as tireless, hardworking and dedicated to the University. She brings resourcefulness and creativity to her tasks always in the interest of serving the University’s mission.

The Coakley Award was established in 2010 and honors distinguished service to the University by an active, permanent hourly employee who has worked at St. Lawrence for a minimum of 10 years. Baker has been deemed “absolutely indispensable for many faculty,” knowing St. Lawrence's policies and balancing a respect for the university, students and faculty. Among her many tasks recently has been transitioning the campus to a new student information system.

The following faculty received tenure and were promoted to associate professor:

  • Jessica Chapman, associate professor of mathematics, computer science and statistics
  • Emily Dixon, associate professor of chemistry and biology
  • Ronnie Olesker, associate professor government
  • Leah Rohlfsen, associate professor of sociology
  • Alexander Schreiber, associate professor of biology
  • Madeleine Wong, associate professor of global studies
  • Zhenjun Zhang, associate professor of modern languages and literatures and Asian studies

The following faculty were promoted to professor:

  • Karl McKnight, professor of biology 

Read the speech delivered by President William L. Fox '75 during Convocation 2014