University News



“The Blue Moon Radio Hour" poster
The Department of Music will host “The Blue Moon Radio Hour: A Staged Radio Broadcast of Music and Drama from the 20s-30s,” beginning at 8 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 8, in Launder’s Underground
Students pictured next to a windmill in Denmark
IIE's "Open Doors" reports nearly three-quarters of all St. Lawrence University students study abroad during their attendance, with nearly two-thirds studying abroad for a semester or longer.
Inside shot of Appleton Arena
St. Lawrence University has signed a contract with HOK to conduct the comprehensive study for renovations to Appleton Arena.
St. Lawrence University students participated in the New York Six Model African Union
St. Lawrence University students participated in the New York Six Model African Union conference, which took place Nov. 3 to 5 at Hamilton College.
Student riding a bike in the snow
St. Lawrence University received recognition from the League of American Bicyclists’ Bicycle Friendly University.
Alessandro Giardino, assistant professor of Italian and Francophone studie
Alessandro Giardino, assistant professor of Italian and Francophone studies, edited and published a new book, titled "Corporeality and Performativity in Baroque Naples."
Zane Belden ’18, Michael Zunkeler ’18, James Schibli ’18, John (Jack) Martin ’18, and Garnet Remillard ’20
St. Lawrence University’s Fed Challenge team has advanced to the semifinal round, which will take place on Nov. 14 at the Federal Reserve Bank of New York.
Benjamin Landry
St. Lawrence University’s Writer Series will continue its 2017-18 season with author Benjamin Landry as well as Sara Schaff at 8 p.m. on Thursday, Nov. 9, in the Sykes Common Room
Estey Organ
St. Lawrence University continues its Noon in the Chapel series with “Remembering and Celebrating Our Veterans” beginning at 12:15 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 10, in Gunnison Memorial Chapel.


Eileen Julien, professor of comparative literature at Indiana University
Eileen Julien, professor of comparative literature at Indiana University, will deliver the 2017 C.L.R. James lecture at 7 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 30, in Sykes Formal Lounge.
Scene from "Wonder of the World"
“Wonder of the World” will be performed in Gulick Theatre at 8 p.m. from Wednesday, Nov. 8, through Saturday, Nov. 11.
St. Lawrence University’s Music Department will host a benefit concert for Puerto Rico beginning at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 3, in Gunnison Memorial Chapel.
Pupmkins at night
St. Lawrence University’s theme houses will offer tasty treats for community children this Halloween season from 6 to 8:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 31.
Facutly teaching a class and holding a skull bone.
The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation has awarded St. Lawrence University $150,000 to support its new public health program.
Saks Afridi, Code-Switching, 2017, lenticular print
St. Lawrence University’s Richard F. Brush Art Gallery will feature the exhibition “Multitudes: An art exhibition in the age of the #muslimban” from Oct. 18 to Dec. 15.
Ally Farzetta as Lady Macbeth and Calder Shilling as Macbeth
The American Shakespeare Center will perform “The Taming of the Shrew,” “Macbeth” and Jane Austen’s “Sense and Sensibility” from Oct. 27 to 29.
Students looking at a skeleton in the lab
St. Lawrence University was named one of the best schools in New York State for anthropology majors.


Sondra Goldsmith Proctor
Sondra Goldsmith Proctor, organist and musician in residence, was quoted in the "Watertown Daily Times" regarding water-powered organs and their connection to the North Country.
Michael Gale, Jr.
St. Lawrence University’s Annual Church Lecture in Neuroscience will host Dr. Michael Gale, Jr., at 7 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 16 in Hepburn Hall, room 218.
Sarah Barber, associate professor of English, and Robert Thacker, Dana Professor of English
Robert Thacker and Sarah Barber co-wrote an op-ed that was featured in "Inside Higher Ed" on improving the sophomore-year experience.
St. Lawrence University will hold a panel discussion from noon to 1 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 6, in Hepburn Hall, room 218, related to issues of immigration and enforcement at the U.S. border.
Inside Appleton Arena
St. Lawrence University has received a gift in the form of a planning grant that will allow for a comprehensive study to consider ways of renewing and enhancing Appleton Arena.
Left to right: Zakarias Grafilo, violin; Frederick Lifsitz, violin; Paul Yarbrough, viola; Sandy Wilson, cello
The Alexander String Quartet will perform two public concerts at noon on Oct. 4 and 8 p.m. on Oct. 5, as they make their return to St. Lawrence University.
Campus sign, St. Lawrence University founded in 1856
St. Lawrence University will host nearly 70 colleges and universities during its annual Higher Education Night, which will take place from 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 3.
David Greenberg and Chris Norman
Multi-instrumentalist musicians Chris Norman and David Greenberg are scheduled to perform together at St. Lawrence University at 8 p.m. on Friday, Sep. 22, in Peterson-Kermani Performance Hall.