Three young writers will visit campus in the fall to read their prize-winning fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction, plus participate in a seminar and conference, as part of the St. Lawrence University Young Writers Contest.

The St. Lawrence University Young Writers Contest is a national event held annually, to encourage the best high school writers in the country in furthering their craft. The contest is judged by St. Lawrence students.

First-place winners in each of the three categories receive a cash award of $250, a trip to St. Lawrence in September to attend a creative writing seminar and do readings of their winning works, and they attend St. Lawrence's Young Writers Conference, held at the University's conference center in the Adirondack Mountains. Second-place winners in each category receive a cash award of $150 and third-place winners receive $100.

First-place winners in this year's contest are Nicole Bogas, of Charlotte, North Carolina, a junior at Providence Senior High School, poetry; Charlotte Hardin, of Magnolia, Texas, a junior at The John Cooper School, for creative non-fiction; and Geeta Naidu, of South Barrington, Illinois, a junior at Elgin Academy, for fiction.

Second-place winners are Christina Pasternak, of Buffalo, New York, a junior at City Honors School, for poetry; Daphne Rozenblatt, of Manhattan Beach, California, a junior at Mira Costa High School, for fiction; and Julie Feldman, of New York City, a junior at the Trinity School, for creative non-fiction.

Third-place winners are Kristen France, of Princeton, New Jersey, a junior at the Princeton Day School, for poetry; Katie Mazie, of Altadena, California, a junior at LaSalle High School, for fiction; and Sophia Sherry, of Haverford, Pennsylvania, a junior at The Shipley School, for creative non-fiction.

Close Window to Return to Netnews