The Career Services and Leadership Education office has awarded Summer 2002 Internship Fellowships to 29 students, to assist them with expenses they incur as they gain career experience.

Established in 1997, the Intern Fellowship Award is designed to promote leadership and career development opportunities for undergraduate students. Awarded to students who have secured internships, including structured career development or research opportunities for the coming summer, this award is intended to help offset the costs of living, travel and other expenses incurred during the internship experience.

Initially created by a generous gift from Vivien Gardner Hannon '43, the fund making the awards possible has now grown to include several other donors, including the Sol Feinstone Alumni Award fund, Michael W. and Pamela Van Hoven Clark Career Planning Fund, trustee Jan Langlois '71 and some anonymous gifts. In reviewing applications, first priority is given to alumni-sponsored internships coordinated through the Career Services and Leadership Education office, but all applications are considered.

This year, there were a record-setting 64 applicants and more than $20,000, a record amount, was awarded to students. Recipients are:

  • Amy Barr '04, participant in Cross-Cultural Solutions Program, Ghana, Africa
  • Alexei Boulokhov '03, Kodak Cannes Student Filmmaker Program, Cannes, France
  • Lydia Brown '03, AVA Gallery and Art Center, Lebanon, NH
  • Vitaliy Bukhtulov '03, Universal Motown Records Group, New York City
  • Caitlin Cook '03, Colorado Shakespeare Festival, Boulder, CO
  • Sarah Cook '03, public relations, Albany Medical Center, Albany, NY
  • Ian Coryea '03, Salomon Smith Barney, Buffalo, NY
  • Jeremy DeBottis '03, American Cancer Society, Philadelphia, PA
  • Cobey Flynn '03, British American Dramatic Academy Midsummer Program, Oxford, England
  • Emily Hunt '04, District Attorney's Office, Telluride, CO
  • Hanseul Kang '04, The Fund for Peace, Washington, DC
  • Danae Kesel '03, Wellspan Health, York, PA
  • Sara Lewis '03, Wainwright House, Rye, NY
  • Jennifer Lorence '03, Institute for Mental Health Initiative, Washington, DC
    Jonathan Moyer '03, Merrill Lynch, Burlington, VT
  • Shirley Obioha '04, Nephrology Clinic, Yonkers, NY
  • Emily Perlman '03, Camp Starfish, Brewster, MA
  • Jessica Rhodes '03, Middleberg Euro RSCG, New York City
  • Warren Richmond IV '04, US Sen. John Kerry, Boston, MA
  • Ryan Ruuska '03, Dejong for Commissioner, Raleigh, NC
  • Mary Claire Schwab '03, Yale Medical School Laboratory of Molecular Psychiatry, New Haven, CT
  • Toyin Showole '04, American Cancer Society, Staten Island, NY, and Wellspan Health, York, PA
  • Pedro Tejada '03, SLU Higher Education Opportunities Program/mathematics department
  • John Trentini '03, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
  • Ivelina Velikova '03, Cannondale Associates, Wilton, CT
  • Matthew Whitehead '03, Intuit Gallery, Chicago, IL
  • Michael Williams '04, Fletcher Allen Medical Center, Burlington, VT
  • Katherine Wolleben '04, Engalitcheff Institute on Comparative Politics and Economic Systems, Washington, DC
  • Craig Zajac '03, CB Richard Ellis, Washington, DC
    Posted May 9, 2002

    Close Window to Return to Netnews