St. Lawrence University - homepage homepage directories sitemap
contact us search
 prospective students current students faculty and staff alumni, parents and friends campus visitors

Return to NetNews


Five members of the Senior class were inducted into St. Lawrence University's chapter of Phi Beta Kappa during Family Weekend.

Election to Phi Beta Kappa is one of the highest distinctions of academic achievement a student can obtain. Minimum requirements include a grade-point average of 3.5 (out of a possible 4.0) and at least 20 credit-hours of work completed at St. Lawrence.

Elected in August of 2003 and inducted September 20 were Lindsay Weichert '04, Syracuse, NY; Kelly Morris '04, Williamsport, PA; Stefania Anton '04, Bucharest, Romania; Johnathan DeLorbe '04, Wilmington, DE; and Omar Zaidan '04, Amman, Jordan.

Elections for students are held three times each year: in August, the chapter elects the top four to six students in the new senior class; in March, an additional 25-30 seniors are elected; and in May, approximately 10-15 students win the coveted membership, just two days before graduation. In total, about 10% of the Senior class is elected.

The St. Lawrence chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, Lambda of New York, celebrated its 100th anniversary in 1999 with a reunion of Phi Beta Kappa alumni that included several seminars led by PBK alumni and St. Lawrence faculty. A charter for the chapter, the 12th to be established in New York State but only the 50th nationwide, was approved September 7, 1898, with Harvard University as its sponsor. The chapter held its first organizational meeting June 24, 1899.

Over the ensuing years, many of St. Lawrence’s most famous names were elected as either student or alumni members of Phi Beta Kappa, including Owen D. Young, Emily Eaton Hepburn, Richard Eddy Sykes, John Murray Atwood, Edwin Lee Hulett, Millard H. Jencks, Charles Kelsey Gaines, Joseph J. Romoda, Rutherford "Doc" Delmage and University President Daniel F. Sullivan.

Posted: September 24, 2003