St. Lawrence University's chapter of the national leadership organization Omicron Delta Kappa has been named a "Circle of Distinction" by the group.

Of the 279 Circles of the society, only 13 received the Circle of Distinction honor for the 2001-2002 academic year.

Omicron Delta Kappa, was founded in 1914, at Washington and Lee University by student and faculty leaders. In the tradition of the idealism and leadership of George Washington and Robert E. Lee, the founders formulated the idea that leadership of exceptional quality and versatility in college should be recognized, that representatives in all phases of college life should cooperate in a worthwhile endeavor, and that outstanding students, faculty and administration members should meet on a basis of mutual interest, understanding and helpfulness.

At St. Lawrence, recognition of outstanding leadership began in the early 1920's. At that time, Kixioc (for men) and Kalon (for women) were formed to recognize students who have excelled in scholarship, leadership, and service to the University. In 1954, Kixioc became affiliated with Omicron Delta Kappa, and at the same time Kalon became an affiliate of Mortar Board, the national senior honorary for women. In 1976, the members of Omicron Delta Kappa and Mortar Board decided to merge into one organization: The Kalon-Kixiox Chapter of Omicron Delta Kappa, open to junior and senior men and women and to members of the faculty and staff.

New members are "tapped" in a traditional ceremony held on campus in the spring, following Moving-Up Day events.

Read more about ODK at St. Lawrence.

Posted: June 18, 2002

Close Window to Return to Netnews