St. Lawrence University - homepage homepage directories sitemap
contact us search
 prospective students current students faculty and staff alumni, parents and friends campus visitors

Return to NetNews


The news programming of North Country Public Radio, based at St. Lawrence University, has been recognized with several awards from Public Radio News Directors Inc.

At the journalism organization's conference in Washington, DC, 64 awards were presented to 37 stations for work produced during 2003; North Country Public Radio received four awards in the mid-sized station division for reporting first broadcast during its morning newsmagazine, "The 8 O'Clock Hour." The organization presents the only national awards for outstanding public radio news reporting at local stations.

St. Lawrence Valley reporter David Sommerstein won a first-place award for continuing coverage of agriculture in the region, and a first-place award for a feature story on rutabaga bowling at a farmers' market. Adirondack Bureau Chief Brian Mann won a first-place award for a series on snowmobile safety, and a second-place award for continuing coverage of Pakistani refugees at the Canadian border.

Station Manager Ellen Rocco stated, "We're proud to win these awards from our peers across the country. And praise for the wonderful writing we hearing from our reporters every day is especially gratifying."

Posted: August 24, 2004