Contact Us    Find People    Homepage
page header
 future students linkscurrent students linksfaculty and staff linksalumni linksparents linksvisitors links

St. Lawrence News


North Country Public Radio has received the Harold K. Hochschild Award from the Adirondack Museum. The Hochschild Award, formerly called the Founders Award, was established in 1990 in memory of the museum's founder, whose passion for the Adirondacks, its people and environment inspired the creation of the Adirondack Museum. This is the first time the Adirondack Museum presented this award to an organization rather than an individual.

The purpose of the Hochschild award is to recognize, strengthen and support intellectual and community leaders throughout the Adirondack Park, and to highlight their contribution to the region's culture and quality of life. Past recipients have included people from all walks of life, including physician Francis Trudeau, writer Paul Jamieson, conservationist Clarence Petty, author and historian Barbara McMartin and disabilities advocate Ellen Nadia Maroun.

"This award is particularly meaningful because it acknowledges our mission to connect the communities of our region," said Station Manager Ellen Rocco. "It is such an honor to be recognized by the community we serve; in many ways it is more significant to us than the national awards we've received. So many of the past recipients are heroes of mine and to be in the company of such remarkable individuals thrills and humbles us."

More information: North Country Public Radio Web Site

The Adirondack Museum Web Site

Posted: July 12, 2006

St. Lawrence University · 23 Romoda Drive · Canton, NY · 13617 · Copyright ·315-229-5011