Three authors who have participated in the St. Lawrence Writers Series are recipients of 2000 Lannan Literary Awards from the Lannan Foundation in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Nine writers recently received the awards, in various categories.

Jay Wright (also the recipient of an honorary degree from St. Lawrence) received one of the prestigious awards in poetry, while Robert Coover won for fiction and Bill McKibben for non-fiction. All have participated in the St. Lawrence Writers Series, which brings authors to campus each year to meet with students, teach classes, speak and read from their recent work.

The Lannan Literary Awards were established in 1989 to honor both established and emerging writers whose work is of exceptional quality. Candidates for the awards are recommended to the foundation by a network of writers, literary scholars, publishers, and editors. Nominators are geographically dispersed and serve anonymously. The final determination of award recipients is made by the foundation's literary committee.

Close Window to Return to Netnews