Warren Perdrizet

Warren Perdrizet
Warren Perdrizet
Biology and Estudios Hispánicos
South Glastonbury, Connecticut
I am a current member of the Greenhouse, a Theme Cottage focused on issues of sustainability and how we can raise awareness and action within the campus community and the community at large. In my academic life I have worked as a Teaching Assistant for General Biology, completed research with an ISEI Fellowship during my Sophomore year summer and with a SLU Fellowship during my Junior year summer writing a field guide to the common moss species of Northeastern North America. I also continue to work at the Munroe Family Climbing Wall as a wall staff member and as a route setter.

I grew up just outside of Hartford, Connecticut, where I attended a small high school with emphasis on creative arts. Through a suggestion of my guidance counselor I found St. Lawrence University to be a good match, with a breadth of possible fields of study, including many study abroad options, and a fairly large student body actively engaged in outdoor lifestyles.

At St. Lawrence I quickly realized that I could not resolve the dual interest I have in both the sciences and in modern languages by choosing just one, deciding instead to major in both fields. Through careful course planning I have been able to take advantage of the St. Lawrence Spain study abroad program, studying in Madrid for the ‘09-‘10 academic year, while balancing the requirements for the Biology major. In Spain I was fortunate to undertake an internship at the Royal Botanic Garden of Madrid, working in the Herbarium mounting plant specimens and entering them into the Herbarium database.

Non-academically I became involved in rock climbing during my time here, among other things. I have used the services the Outdoor Program offers extensively, taking trips in the New York area focused on building natural and artificial anchors, lead climbing, Traditional climbing, and movement techniques. I have also participated in extended climbing trips to Red River Gorge, Kentucky, and El Portreo Chico, Nuevo Leon, Mexico.

I currently speak English and Spanish. I am drawn particularly to Spanish literature, especially short stories and poetry. In the future, I would like to explore the possibilities of an extended trip to South America. In the immediate future, I have plans to attend graduate school with a focus on Ecology/Botany.