St. Lawrence University - homepage homepage directories sitemap
contact us search
 prospective students current students faculty and staff alumni, parents and friends campus visitors

Table of Contents

Celebrate St. Lawrence!

Office with a View

Alumni Accomplishments

The Kenya Connection

Laurentian Reviews

Table of Contents

Alumni Accomplishments

Karen Hitchcock '64 (left)
, president of the State University of New York at Albany , left, gave the Howard St. John Lecture at Ulster County Community College in Stone Ridge , N.Y. , on November 12, 2003 . She spoke on the current state and future prospects of nanotechnology and biotechnology in the Hudson Valley corridor. In the audience were Pat Davenport Hall '50 (pictured), John “Gus” Hall '50, Judy Rothfuss Embree '55 and Jim Embree '54.

These Laurentians gathered in Lockport, N.Y., for the fifth annual Mark A. Monaco Memorial Golf Tournament on July 28, 2003 . The tournament raised over $8,500 for the Mark A. Monaco Memorial Foundation, which supports the Mark Allan Monaco '96 Memorial Conference Room in the new Student Center , which opened in January. Mark Monaco died in an accident in 1998.

Haley Ruppert '01
is the “class entrepreneur” according to Class Reporter Kate Elliott '01. Last summer, Ruppert opened Soulshine Bagel on Main Street in Lake Placid, N.Y., buying the equipment (and acquiring the chef, left, and baker) from another bagel business in the same location.

Several Laurentians teamed with graduates of Clarkson and Purdue on a Make A Difference Day event with the Dallas Ramp Project, October 25, 2003 . John Laine '67 explains: “We had a great day. By the time the sawdust had settled we had built a 31-foot-long ramp for a dialysis patient. We concluded by having lunch together in a Salvadorean restaurant nearby that is a ramp builders' hangout. All of the SLU folks, and our Clarkson partner, have agreed to join our volunteer e-mail distribution list for future participation!” Left to right are Doug Brown (Clarkson '89), John Laine '67, Josh Olszewski '95, Grace Hogan, Dan Skene '95 and Tom Hogan '85.

Dr. Floyd L. Bajjaly has been named a distinguished alumnus of Watertown (N.Y.) High School. Dr. Bajjaly, a member of the WHS Class of 1946, is a psychologist who has devoted his professional life to improving mental health services in his community and region. From 1966 to 1971 he was the director of Jefferson County Mental Health Clinic, whose patient rolls went from 60 to more than 1,000. He also helped expand the Association for Retarded Children in Jefferson County and worked to expand the services of the Jefferson Rehabilitation Center . Dr. Bajjaly received his medical degree from Queens University , Kingston , Ontario , and earned a post-graduate degree in psychology from Ohio State .

The American Academy of Periodontology Foundation board of directors elected Paul Levi Jr., DMD, to a one-year term as secretary-treasurer at its annual meeting in San Francisco in September 2003. Dr. Levi had served on the foundation's board of directors since 2001; he maintains a private practice in Burlington , Vt. , and also teaches at Tufts University School of Dental Medicine. He previously taught for nine years at Harvard School of Dental Medicine, where he won a teaching award presented by the students; he also holds academic appointments in the Department of Surgery, Medical Center of Vermont, and the UVM School of Allied Health Sciences. Through his work at Harvard he has been invited to present courses in Germany and at three universities in Thailand ; this year he is giving courses in Thailand and lecturing at Tokyo Dental College , Japan . He has served on numerous committees for the American Academy of Periodontology and on the advisory board of the AAP Foundation. He is also active in several dental and periodontal organizations.

Barbara Jarvis Tewksbury has received the 2003 Neil Miner Award for Teaching, presented by the National Association of Geology Teachers. According to Professor Mark Erickson of the St. Lawrence geology department, “This is the highest award that a geology teacher can achieve in the profession.” She is the Stephen Harper Kirner Professor of Geology and chair of the department at Hamilton College ; she has won other teaching awards, has been a leader of professional organizations, and has spoken worldwide, published and led workshops on geoscience education issues.