St. Lawrence University - homepage homepage directories sitemap
contact us search
 prospective students current students faculty and staff alumni, parents and friends campus visitors

Table of Contents

Six(ty) Degrees of St. Lawrence
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4

Alumni Accomplishments

Magazine Cover

Alumni Accomplishments

The New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) has named Michele Amidon ’94 Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year, based on a poll conducted among her peers. Amidon, head women’s coach at Bowdoin College, led the Polar Bears to a best-ever 23-5-1 record, placing fourth in the nation and winning the NESCAC Championship. Under her guidance, Bowdoin has turned into a national power at the Division III level, recording an 80-36-7 mark in five seasons, making her the winningest coach in the program's history. Amidon, center, displays her Coach of the Year plaque with her college friends Erin LaBombard Frisbie ’95, left, and Sherry Fayerweather ’95, who happened to be on hand when she was given her award after her team’s final game of the season, at Middlebury.

Alumni Council Executive Committee member and Class Reporter Lucy Tower Funke '56, of New Berlin, N.Y., left, received the M. Jacquie Lodico Distinguished Service Award for advancing community cultural development from the Alliance of New York State Arts Organizations on November 27, 2001, at a "Celebrate the Arts in New York State" ceremony held at the Russian Tea Room in New York City. The award was presented by Kitty Carlisle Hart, right, who received an honorary degree from St. Lawrence in 1992. The Alliance stated, "Lucy Tower Funke is a most familiar name within the entire State of New York as a tireless advocate for the arts. She began her tenure as executive director with the Chenango County Council of the Arts in 1981, and by the time of her retirement in 1999 had become a venerable and distinguished member of the Alliance, along with many other statewide efforts.” She has been an arts panelist and fund-raiser, but perhaps “The most permanent record of her legacy is the restoration and renovation of a 500-seat arts theater in Norwich,” N.Y.

Lee Hecht Harrison, the Boston-based career and outplacement arm of Adecco SA, has announced that Ian M. Grant ’84, executive vice president of its ExecuPlanet subsidiary, has been named one of Boston’s “Top 40 Professionals Under 40” by the Boston Business Journal. The award is based on professional success, influence, and civic contributions. ExecuPlanet provides colleges and universities with tools they can use to keep graduates coming back for advice as they move up the corporate ladder and confront issues of financial security and retirement. As an outgrowth of his semester in Kenya, Grant is working with the Masai Education Foundation and is working to link Masai schools with elementary schools in Boston.

Michigan State University’s new athletic director is longtime MSU head men’s hockey coach Ron Mason ’64. Mason was appointed to his new post in February, according to a university statement. Mason, a former Saints player, has been a college head coach for 36 years, 23 of them at Michigan State, and he has a 916-376-81 lifetime record. He won the NCAA Division I national championship in 1986, as well as an NAIA title with Lake Superior State in 1972. Last October, he coached his team to a 3-3 tie with the University of Michigan before the largest crowd ever to watch a hockey game, 74,554 at Spartan Stadium.

Allen P. Splete ’60, left, president emeritus of the Council of Independent Colleges (CIC), has received the 16th Annual Henry Paley Memorial Award from the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU). He accepted the award from NAICU President David L. Warren at the NAICU Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., in February.

The award recognizes an individual who embodies the spirit of unfailing service toward the students and faculty of independent higher education. CIC helps private institutions improve leadership expertise, educational programs, administrative and financial performance, and institutional visibility. Splete served as CIC’s president from 1986 to 2000, the longest tenure of any CIC president. He joined the organization as executive vice president in 1985. Splete developed and implemented major projects on the academic workplace, international business, and technology and the liberal arts, and created a highly successful ongoing project to enhance leadership at historically black colleges. From 1982 until he joined CIC, Splete was president of Westminster College, New Wilmington, Pa. He served for 12 years as vice president for academic planning and special projects at St. Lawrence, and earlier held a number of administrative positions at Syracuse University.

Trustee Ronald B. Stafford '57 has received the 2001 J. Walter Juckett Community Service Award, presented by the Adirondack Regional Chambers of Commerce. Stafford, a New York State Senator for 37 years, has been a strong supporter of higher education, and serves on the boards of several educational institutions in addition to St. Lawrence. Among other accomplishments, he wrote and sponsored the law the created the Tuition Assistance Program (TAP), which provides grants to college students from across the state. A Republican from Plattsburgh, he represents the eastern half of Northern New York in the Senate.

Our student Heather Fitts ’03 was not the only Laurentian to carry the Olympic torch last winter. Peggy Horwitz Stock ’57 also had the honor, carrying the torch along the campus of Westminster College, in the Olympic host city, Salt Lake City, on February 7, 2002. Stock, who has been president of Utah’s only private non-denominational liberal arts college for seven years, plans to step down from that post in June after leading the college through a sustained period of growth in reputation, increases in fund-raising and physical improvements to the campus. Previously, she was president of Colby-Sawyer College in New Hampshire.

Varick Chittenden ’63 left, and Jill Breit ’86, right, receive the Canton (N.Y.) Chamber of Commerce Member of the Year award from Chamber President Kathy Flanagan, at the Chamber’s annual banquet in February. The award was given to Traditional Arts of Upstate New York (TAUNY), of which Chittenden is founder and executive director and Breit is assistant director. The occasion marked the first time the Chamber selected an organization rather than an individual for this award. The two were honored for bringing national recognition to TAUNY, most recently through their award-winning Good Food, Served Right cookbook by erstwhile University Archivist Lynn Ekfelt. TAUNY was also selected in 2001 for the prestigious New York State Governor’s Arts Award, the first folk arts organization and one of the very few North Country arts organizations to be so honored.

Kim Williams ’90, assistant professor of education at SUNY Cortland, has been awarded $570,000 over the next three years to evaluate the effectiveness of the Syracuse City School District's "Safe Schools, Healthy Students" initiative. Her funding is being subcontracted through the school district's three-year, $.47 million federal grant. Williams told the Cortland Standard newspaper that one thing she will be doing is “security checklist observations -- the hot spots in the school where violence happens and whether there is a safe entry into the building.” Prior to joining the SUNY Cortland faculty in 1999, Williams ran the Syracuse University Violence Prevention Project. She earned a master's degree in higher education administration and a Ph.D. in foundations of education from Syracuse University.