Mellon Initiative Call for Proposals

SLU was awarded an $800,000 grant from the Mellon Foundation for Environmental Education, Research and Advocacy. The successful grant proposal was collectively developed by a group of SLU faculty from a breadth of academic disciplines, the Dean of Academic Affairs, and the Corporate and Foundation Relations Office. We have already funded a variety of proposals from faculty and students.

The Mellon Environmental Education Initiative Steering Committee is announcing our call for proposals for Summer 2011, Fall 2011, and Winter Break 20011/12 to be due by February 21, 2011 (faculty) or March 7 (students). We are inviting faculty and staff to submit proposals for projects that meet the spirit and goals of the Mellon Grant. These goals include the following:

  • Increase in-depth experiential learning opportunities for students to apply and discover knowledge through firsthand "field" opportunities off campus, including environmental research, advocacy, internships, activism, and seminar/studio study.
  • Promote and foster opportunities for interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary collaborations related to the study, sustainability, and protection of the environment.
  • Implement project activities (i.e., increased field study and advocacy activities) in environmentally-sensitive ways for short- and long-term benefit to the environment.

We direct your attention to the Mellon Initiative website for detailed instructions about the application process. In the spirit of reducing our environmental footprint, the application process will be entirely on-line. Please draft your proposal narrative and budget as electronic documents and you will be asked to upload them during the application process. Note that there are no funds for the purchase of capital equipment.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Erika Barthelmess or Mary Hussmann, co-chairs, or any member of the Mellon Environmental Education Initiative Steering Committee (Carol Cady, Antun Husinec, Andrew Jones, Eric Williams-Bergen, Jayantha Jayman, Carrie Johns, Devon Stein, and Karl Schoenberg).