Awards Given Out at Moving Up Day

Congratulations to our six award recipients from the Gender & Sexuality Studies department who received awards at Moving Up Day which was held on April 30th, 2011.

The recipients were: Sara Holden & Adele Broberg who received the Don Makosky Award for the Women's Resource Center, Sylar Van Steemburg & Jonathan Stopyra who received the Writing/Academic Award, Jonathan Stopyra who received the Writing/Academic Award for SAGA, and Emma Berry who received the First Year Scholarship Award.

The Don Makosky Award recognizes a senior minor who has worked to further equality on campus.

The Writing Award recognizes students whose writing in any class enhances understanding of gender issues.  Writing awards are given in four categories: creative, traditionally academic, suggestive of pragmatic interventions, and First Year Program/First Year Seminar Writing.