Biology Honorary Members receive awards at Beta Beta Beta Northeast District Convention.

On April 29th, three members of the Biology Honorary presented their research and won several accolades at the Beta Beta Beta 2012 Northeast-1 District Convention held at Pace University in New York City. The students, Taylor Moon, Lalita Priyamvada and Eddie Richter, are all graduating seniors.

At the convention, Mr. Eddie Richter was awarded second place in the Frank G. Brooks award for excellence in undergraduate research presented in an oral session. The title of his presentation was “Ecology of Roadside Mosses” and his mentor for this work was Associate Professor of Biology Dr. Karl McKnight.

Ms. Lalita Priyamvada was awarded second place in the John C. Johnson award for excellence in undergraduate research presented in a poster session. The title of her presentation was ‘The estrogen-disrupting compound bisphenol-A (BPA) inhibits thymus gland growth in Xenopus laevis tadpoles’ and her mentors for this work were Assistant Professors of Biology, Dr. Kari Heckman and Dr. Alex Schreiber.

Finally, all three students earned St. Lawrence University the “Travel Gavel Award” for traveling the most delegate miles to attend the convention.

The awardees are active members of St. Lawrence’s Alpha Iota chapter of Beta Beta Beta, a biology honorary that was founded in 1922 and is dedicated to improving the understanding and appreciation of biological study. Their research was funded by research grants from the National Beta Beta Beta, the Biology Department, St. Lawrence University Fellowships and the Mellon Foundation.