Sexual Assault Resources

A Guide to Sexual Assault Prevention and Resources for Survivors

An educational community should be the model of equity, civility, and inclusiveness.  I hope that St. Lawrence University can be an exemplar of these attributes.  Every Laurentian counts in the fight against sexual violence and relationship violence on campus.
President William L. Fox

Prevention

Ask for and give consentThis guide to consent will help.  Remember, consent can only be given if both people are clear-headed (not under the influence of drugs or alcohol), give and receive clear verbal and non-verbal cues, and feel no pressure.

Response

Ensure your safetyIf you are in any danger, or if you believe you may soon be in danger, do not hesitate to call for help.  Securing your immediate safety is the first priority.

  • Safety & Security always has campus officers on duty (315-229-5555).
  • You can reach the nearest police department by calling 911.

Reach out to someone:  contact someone you trust for guidance and support.  It can be someone you know, or someone on campus who is trained to help.

Confidential Resources:  These trained campus and community resources can retain your confidentiality, if you choose.

Seek medical care:  ask to be examined for potential injuries and infections.  You can also consider asking for evidence collection before washing or changing clothes.

  • For after-hours care, or for transportation, you can call Safety & Security (315-229-5555) or 911.
  • Planned Parenthood of Canton (315-386-8821)

Resources with Reporting Responsibilities

Consider Reporting the incident:
  making a report does not commit you to taking any disciplinary or legal action.  You can provide only as much information as you wish. The University may choose to investigate and act it believes there is future risk to the community.

  • Safety & Security (315-229-5555) and the police (911) can take reports.  Send an anonymous report to Security here: CLERY Anonymous Crime Report
  • Canton Village Police at 60 Main Street, Canton, (315-386-4561)
  • Vice President and Dean of Student Life Joe Tolliver, 229-5311, Sullivan Student Center,  jtolliver@stlawu.edu
  • Associate Dean of Student Life Rance Davis, 229-5551, Sullivan Student Center,  rdavis@stlawu.edu; Convener of the Review Board
  • Vice President and Dean of Academic Affairs Valerie Lehr, 229-5993, Vilas 103,  vlehr@stlawu.edu
  • Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs Alison Del Rossi, 229-5993, Vilas 103, adelrossi@stlawu.edu
  • Vice President of Community and Employee Relations and Title IX Coordinator Lisa Cania, Vilas 114, 229-5656, lcania@stlawu.edu;
  • Director of Human Resources for Employee Relations Colleen Manley, 229-5988, Vilas G2, cmanley@stlawu.edu
  • Director of Human Resources for Employee Benefits and Deputy Title IX Coordinator Debra Mousaw, 229-5597, Vilas G1, dmousaw@stlawu.edu
  • Head Volleyball Coach and Deputy Title IX Coordinator Shelly Roiger, Augsbury Center 217, 229-5875
  • Director of Safety and Security and Deputy Title IX Coordinator Patrick Gagnon, 229-5555, Torrey Health Center, pgagnon@stlawu.edu
  • Assistant Director of Safety and Security Roxanne Cliff, 229-5555, Torrey Health Center, rcliff@stlawu.edu
  • Director of Residence Life Christopher Marquart, 229-5250, Sullivan Student Center 231, cmarquart@stlawu.edu
  • Director of Student Activities Megan Flaherty, 229-5757, Sullivan Student Center 225, mflaherty@stlawu.edu
  • A student trained as a Community Assistant (CA).

    Seek counseling:  if you experience emotional distress, talking to a counselor can be an important part of the healing process.  Several types of counseling resources are available at the university.
  • Counselors at The Torrey Health and Counseling Services (315-229-5392).
  • Chaplains Kathleen Buckley (315-229-5256) and Shaun Whitehead (315-229-5062).

Consider disciplinary or legal action:  if you decide to press charges, you can do so through the university, through the police, or both.