Moving Up Day Awards

This past Saturday was Moving Up Day, when the University hands out academic awards. Within the department, the following Anthropology Awards were given: 

Franz Boas:  Awarded to a senior for outstanding academic performance in all four fields of anthropology. This year’s Boas Award winner is Alexis Nuffer.

Richard J. Perry: The Richard J. Perry Award was established in 2004 through the generosity of colleagues, students and alumni to recognize Dr. Perry's dedication to teaching and scholarship on the occasion of his retirement in the spring of 2004.  This year’s Perry Award recipient is Jenna Farmer.

In addition, nine other anthropology students were recognized for their academic excellence and service to the SLU community. The following lists the students and their award(s).

Caitlin Christie ‘11:  The Inger Jo Hanson Memorial Citizenship Award; and the Outstanding Community Service Award.

Heather Christie ’11:  Linda R. Petit Merit Scholarship; and inducted into Omicron Delta Kappa Service Fraternity.

Chelsea McKenzie ‘11:  Outstanding Beginning Swahili; and Tanner Fellowship.

Jany Ramirez ‘11:  HEOP Outstanding Junior Award; and Elected to Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.

Maria Bernard ’12:  Ronald E. McNair Fellowship.

Marta Johann ’12:  Inducted into Omicron Delta Kappa Service Fraternity.

Alexander Paul ’12:  Outstanding Beginning Chinese.

Jessica Piecewicz ’12:  Inducted into Omicron Delta Kappa Service Fraternity.

Raymond Price ’13:  Bradley R. Evers ’94 Outstanding First-Year Student Award; and First-Year Cup Individual Award.