Faculty Administrative Calendar

SPRING 2018

Faculty Meetings are scheduled on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each month
at 4:30 p.m. in Hepburn Auditorium (H218).**

Department Chair Meetings are scheduled on the 2nd Tuesday of each month
at 4:30 p.m. in Hepburn 113.

**Meetings may be cancelled and/or rescheduled at the discretion of Faculty Council.
Any changes in the schedule of meetings will be announced by e-mail by Faculty Council.**

Wed., Jan. 10 Graduate Application deadline – for Educational Leadership Program & General Studies in Education Program ONLY for Spring semester admission

Sun.-Mon. Jan. 14-15, 5th Annual Career Connections Sophomore Boot Camp.

Mon., Jan. 15 Residences open at noon.

Mon.-Tues., Jan. 15-16 New Student Orientation.

Wed., Jan. 16 Open Registration in APR2 is from Noon – 11:59 pm for any graduate or undergraduate students wishing to make schedule changes. Undergrad advising Drop-In session 2-4 pm in ODY.

Wed., Jan. 17 First Day of Classes for undergraduate and graduate students.

Wed., Jan. 17 Add/Drop begins for undergraduate and graduate students.

Fri., Jan. 19 Admissions Senior Visit Day.

Tues., Jan. 23 Last day for graduate level students to add/drop courses or make changes to course sections.

Thurs.-Fri., Jan. 25-26 After the first two class meetings or the first three-hour class that meets once per week, instructors have the option to drop students for not attending or not making arrangements for missing classes if the class has a maximum enrollment. The Registrar must be informed in writing of such action. (M,W,F class drops due 1/25, T,TH class drops due 1/26.)

Thurs., Jan. 25 Last day for undergraduate students to:

- Add a course.
- Change sections within the same course.
- Last day for submitting the course overload formdue to the Registrar’s office by 4:30 p.m.
- Drop a course.

1. No record of adds and drops is made on the transcript through this date.
2. No tuition refund for over-credits is made for courses dropped after this date.
3. A student may add or drop a course after this date only by petition to the Academic Petitions Committee; if approved, the student is subject to a late schedule change fee of $50.
4. A student may withdraw from a course until Friday, April 6th, by filing a properly executed course withdrawal form in the Registrar’s office; notation of withdrawal appears on the transcript.
Three and one-half units are required for full-time status.

Mon., Jan. 29 1st round Fall 2018 course schedule spreadsheets submitted to chairs from Registrar’s Office.

Tues., Jan. 30 Deadline for faculty and staff evaluations for students applying for theInternational Student Exchange Program (ISEP for Fall 2018) - due in Center for International and Intercultural Studies.

Thurs., Feb. 1 Proposals for travel components for Fall 2018 courses are due to CIIS.

Mon., Feb. 5 Large Faculty Grant proposals and Emeritus Faculty Grant proposals are due in the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs Office, Vilas Hall 103, or can be sent to acadean@stlawu.edu.

Mon., Feb. 5 Corrected final class rosters are due in Instructional Resources tab in Fac/Staff Portal.

Tues., Feb. 6 SLU Fellowship and Tanner Fellowship applications due by midnight.

Thurs.-Sat., Feb. 8-10 Winter Meeting of the Alumni Council.

Fri., Feb. 9 Office of Academic Support begins soliciting Early Warnings from faculty.

Sat., Feb. 10 Admissions First Laurentians Day.

Mon., Feb. 12 1st round Fall 2018 course spreadsheets are due in Registrar’s Office.

Mon., Feb. 12 New courses for approval must be submitted to the chair of the Academic Affairs Committee.

Mon., Feb. 12 Letters of evaluation and materials for tenure and/or promotion consideration are due in the Dean’s Office, Vilas Hall 103, by 4:30 p.m.

Thurs., Feb. 15 CIIS Faculty/Student Fellows proposals due in the Center for International/Intercultural Studies.

Thurs.-Fri., Feb. 15-16 Mid-winter Break.

Mon., Feb. 19 Admissions Visit Day.

Tues., Feb. 20 Deadline for faculty and staff evaluations for students applying for off-campus programs due in Center for International and Intercultural Studies.

Mon.-Fri., Feb. 19-23 Integrity Week.

Mon.-Fri., Feb. 19-23 Sophomore Major and Minor declaration week. Students who are in the second semester of their sophomore year must declare a major or receive permission to postpone from the Associate Dean for Academic Advising. Students should take a copy of their academic transcripts to the department(s) of their intended major(s) this week and have their major declaration cards signed. Students must submit major declaration cards to Academic Advising (3 Whitman Annex, or use the Whitman Annex drop box on the porch) by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, March 2nd. Departments which collect major cards need to have them to Academic Advising by Friday, March 2nd. Advisors will review the process of choosing a major/minor with sophomore advisees.

NOTE: Seniors should make final major and/or minor changes prior to Friday, April 13th.

Fri., Feb. 23 Admissions Counselor Fly In Program.

Thur.-Sat., Feb. 22-24 Winter Meeting of the Board of Trustees.

Fri., Feb. 23 Deadline for Moving Up Day Awards and presenters due in the Office of Residence Life.

Mon., Feb. 26 2nd round Fall 2018 course spreadsheets back to faculty for changes.

Thurs., Mar. 1 Proposals for 2019 off-campus summer courses (within or outside the U.S.) are due to CIIS.

Fri., Mar. 2 Major cards from departments are due in the Advising office (3 Whitman Annex, or use the Whitman Annex drop box on the porch).

Fri., Mar. 2 Changes from E grades due from Fall ’17. Must be submitted using Grade Change Form.

Fri., Mar. 9 2nd round Fall 2018 course spreadsheets due in Registrar’s Office.

Tues. Mar. 13 Mid-semester grades are due in Grades tab in Fac/Staff Portal. This deadline is important for the computer run, to inform students of progress to date and for counseling by advisors.

Fri., Mar. 16 Residences close at 5:00 p.m.

Fri.-Sun., Mar. 16-25 Spring Break begins at 5:00 p.m.

Sun., Mar. 25 Residences reopen at 8:00 a.m.

Mon., Mar. 26 Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.

Mon., Mar. 26 Admissions Visit Day.

Mon., Mar. 26 Fall 2018 PDF Course Schedule available on Registrar’s page.

Tues., Mar. 27 Registration advising begins and continues through Friday, April 6th.

Fri., Mar. 30 Last day to change to pass/fail grading.

Fri., Mar. 30 Admissions Admitted Student Open House.

Fri., Mar. 30 Deadline for Moving up Day Award recipients due in the Office of Residence Life.

Mon., Apr. 2 Declaration to Graduate notices due in the Registrar’s Office – undergraduate and graduate levels.

Mon., Apr. 2 Last day for faculty to request a change of a course’s final exam datefrom the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, Vilas Hall 103.

Thurs., Apr. 5 Faculty/Staff evaluations for Student Independent Travel/Research Grant Proposals and Student Travel Enrichment Grant Proposals due in the Center for International and Intercultural Studies.

Fri., Apr. 6 Admissions Admitted Student Open House.

Fri., Apr. 6 Summer Session book orders are due from faculty at the Bookstore.

Fri., Apr. 6 Last day to file a request to withdraw from a course. (Undergraduate & Graduate)

Fri.-Sat., Parents Committee Winter Weekend.
Apr. 6-7

Mon.-Fri., Apr. 9-13 Registration week for undergrads in APR2.

Fri., Apr. 13 Final deadline for Senior major and minor changes and/or additions.

Fri., Apr. 13 Fall term book orders are due from faculty at the Bookstore.

Sat. Apr. 14 Admissions Admitted Student Open House.

Mon., Apr. 16 Registration begins for graduate students in APR2.

Thurs.-Sat. Apr. 19-21 Admissions Celebration of Diversity Event.

Fri., Apr. 20 Admissions Admitted Student Open House.

Mon., Apr. 23 Admissions Admitted Student Open House.

Fri., Apr. 27 Undergraduate Scholarship Festival Day. (NO CLASSES.)

Fri., Apr. 27 FYS Research Exchange Festival, ODY Library, 12:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. For more information, contact Sara Ashpole or the FYP Office.

Sat., Apr. 28 Moving Up Day.

Mon.-Fri., Apr. 30- May 4 Last week of classes. No final exams, hour exams, or their equivalent are to be scheduled during this period or during Study Recess, May 5-6. Exams begin May 7. Inasmuch as labs do not have scheduled exam periods, lab practicals may be given during the final week of classes.

Tues., May 1 Graduate Application deadline – for all grad programs for Summer semester admission.

Fri., May 4 Classes end.

Sat.-Sun., May 5-6 Study Recess. No examinations are to be given during this period.

Mon., May 7 Completed PSC course evaluation forms are due in the Dean’s Office.

Mon.-Sat., May 7-12 Final examinations.

Sat., May 12 Residences close for all students (EXCEPT graduating seniors) at 1:00 p.m.

Tues., May 15 Deadline for reporting grades of graduating seniors.This deadline is crucial to graduation!Grades must be reported prior to noon.

Wed., May 16 Deadline for reporting grades. This deadline (11:59 pm) is important for the computer grade run for determining academic standing of students.

Thur.-Sat., May 17-19 Spring Board of Trustees Meeting.

Fri., May 17 Academic Standing Committee meets at 9:00 a.m. to evaluate student academic deficiencies.

Sun., May 20 Commencement at 10:00 a.m.

Sun., May 20 Residences close for all graduating seniors at 6:00 p.m.

Tues.-Thurs., May 22-24 May College.

Fri., May 25 Academic Standing Committee meets at 9:00 a.m. to hear appeals from suspended students.

Wed., May 30 Graduate Summer Session I begins.

TBD Undergraduate Summer Session begins.

Thur.-Sun., May 31- June 3 Alumni Reunion Weekend.

Fri., June 1 Last Day for Graduate & Undergraduate Summer Session I Add/Drop

Tues., June 5 Sabbatical and other leave requests for 2019-2020 are due in the Dean's Office.

Thur.-Sun., June 7-10 Alumni Council Planning Retreat at Canaras.

Fri., June 8 Last day for Undergraduates to change to pass/fail grading for summerterm.

Tues., June 12 Last Day for Graduate Summer Session I students to withdraw from a course.

Tues., June 19 Graduate Summer Session I ends.

Fri., June 22 Graduate Summer Session I grades due.

Fri.-Sun., June 22-24 Board of Trustees Planning Retreat at Canaras.

Mon., June 25 Graduate Summer Session II begins.

Wed., June 27 Last Day for Graduate Summer Session II Add/Drop (3 days from start of classes)

Wed., June 27 HEOP students arrive on campus.

Thurs., June 28 HEOP Summer Program begins.

TBD Undergraduate Summer Session ends.

Fri., July 6 Last Day for Graduate Summer Session II to withdraw from a course.

Fri., July 13 Graduate Summer Session II ends.

Mon., July 16 Graduate Summer Session III begins.

Mon.-Fri.July 16-27 Summer Send-offs for freshman students and parents.

Wed., July 18 Last Day for Graduate Summer Session III Add/Drop. (3 days from start of classes)

Wed., July 18 Graduate Summer Session II grades due.

Thurs.-Fri.July 26-27 Admissions Legacy Days.

Fri., July 27 Last Day for Graduate Summer Session III students to withdraw from a course.

Tues., July 31 HEOP Summer Program ends.

Fri., Aug. 3 Graduate Summer Session III ends.

Wed., Aug. 8 Graduate Summer Session III grades due.

Wed., Aug. 15 Graduate Application deadline – for all grad programs for Fall semester admission.

Mon., Aug. 20 Deadline for faculty and staff evaluations for students applying for theInternational Student Exchange Program (ISEP for Spring 2019) – due in Center for International and Intercultural Studies.